Jumping while charging


log in or register to remove this ad

We allow it in our games. Jumping is included in your movement, and I think it's eminently reasonable to allow the use of the skill to overcome small patches of obstructing difficult terrain.
 

Did what I should have done before posting, and looked it up in the FAQ. Turns out yes, you can jump in a charge, sometimes.

D&D FAQ said:
You can make a long jump as part of a charge. You must
still follow all the normal rules for making a charge, such as
moving in a straight line on the battle grid.
. . .

Making a high jump as part of a charge is trickier. It’s hard
to imagine a significant high jump that doesn’t change your
direction; after all, you’re now moving vertically rather than
laterally.
. . .

Thanks for replying though.
 



There is also the feat in Complete Adveturer called Leap attack which requires a jump on a charge so, yes you can. The feat causes a multiplication of power attack to *3 on 2 handed weapons and *2 on one handed.
 

2nd Ed Paladin said:
There is also the feat in Complete Adveturer called Leap attack which requires a jump on a charge so, yes you can. The feat causes a multiplication of power attack to *3 on 2 handed weapons and *2 on one handed.

It could be argued that the feat "breaks" the normal rules and is what allows you to make the Jump while charging. Otherwise...

SRD said:
Action: None. A Jump check is included in your movement, so it is part of a move action. If you run out of movement mid-jump, your next action (either on this turn or, if necessary, on your next turn) must be a move action to complete the jump.

By a strict reading of the wording, you need to use a Move Action to Jump as part of movement. A charge is a full round action to perform, not a Move Action. So the answer here would be "No".

Now I don't agree with this myself and I don't play it that way. I just wanted to bring up the alternate view point.
 

Remove ads

Top