Lance Weapon Master

daTim

First Post
If you were a Weapon Master (as the PrC) and focused on the lance, would the Ki Damage ability work when you use the Spirited Charge ability? It only says Ki Damage wont work on a critical hit, which the Spirited Charge isnt, it is just Tripple damage, also you can still score a critical hit when using Spirited Charge. I dont think I've seen this addressed anywhere before. If it does work it seems like a neat trick.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

when the damage is tripled on spirited charge do you roll 3d8 or roll a d8 and multiply it by 3? if you just roll one die you might have a case, otherwise i'd rule it's like a crit. in "spirit"
 

daTim said:
If you were a Weapon Master (as the PrC) and focused on the lance, would the Ki Damage ability work when you use the Spirited Charge ability? It only says Ki Damage wont work on a critical hit, which the Spirited Charge isnt, it is just Tripple damage, also you can still score a critical hit when using Spirited Charge. I dont think I've seen this addressed anywhere before. If it does work it seems like a neat trick.

I'd have to agree with you. Charging with a Lance isn't considered a critical.
 

00durrin said:
when the damage is tripled on spirited charge do you roll 3d8 or roll a d8 and multiply it by 3? if you just roll one die you might have a case, otherwise i'd rule it's like a crit. in "spirit"

Since you can crit on a Spirited Charge, the normal damage is not a crit or like a crit.
 

ok, but that still doesn't answer whether you do 3d8 damage or d8 damage times 3. if it's 3d8 damage how many times are you allowed to use the ki ability on any given attack?
 

Under the letter of the rules, you'd be able to get the extra damage from a change with a lance, or a polearm set to receive a charge, or anything else that multiplied the damage but was not a crit.

Under the spirit - well, that's infinitely arguable.

J
 


00durrin said:
ok, but that still doesn't answer whether you do 3d8 damage or d8 damage times 3. if it's 3d8 damage how many times are you allowed to use the ki ability on any given attack?

You roll the d8 three times, just like for a critcal hit. Even in a critical hit, you don't actually multiply, you roll the damage more than once.


Critical: The entry in this column notes how the weapon is used with the rules for critical hits. When a critical hit is scored, roll the damage with all modifiers two, three, or four times, as indicated by its critical multiplier, and add all the results together.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top