testtesttest

Large creature with 5' reach?

Quasqueton

First Post
I've got a mini that I'm statting up for use in a game. Comparing the mini to other character minis, and the battlegrid, I'd call it a Large size creature. It measures about 8-9 feet tall, and fits comfortably in a 10'x10' spacing. But I just can't see this thing reaching 10' away to attack.

What would be the problems with giving this creature all the normal benefits and penalties for a Large creature, including spacing on the battlegrid, but not giving it 10' reach? Would this change the CR noticably?

Quasqueton
 

log in or register to remove this ad


I'll agree with the previous poster. If its Large (long), like a quadruped on all fours, then that's normal. If it's Large (tall), like a bipedal giant, then that would be definitely unusual.
 

It's Large (tall). It's feet/base are bigger than a 5' square, so it fits the 10'x10' space for a Large creature. Many such figures I've seen are like this -- over 8' tall, base for a 10'x10' space, but they just don't look like they could reach 10' away.

Quasqueton
 

Maybe allow the creature to make an AoO when an opponent enters its threatened area. Same basic effect as the reach, so the CR adjustment wouldn't be too bad.

IIRC, AoOs occur before the action that triggers them, so if you're using any feats or abilities like Stand Still, they would still leave a 5ft square separating the combatants.

The major problem I see with denying the creature reach is that it is now susceptible to a spellcaster casting a touch spell and then 5ft-stepping in to deliver.
 

Personally, I'd give it 10 ft. reach to be consistent with other Large (tall) creatures, about whom probably the same argument could be made ("this miniature couldn't really reach 10 ft."). Unless it has, like, T-rex style atrophied limbs or something.
 

dcollins said:
Personally, I'd give it 10 ft. reach to be consistent with other Large (tall) creatures, about whom probably the same argument could be made ("this miniature couldn't really reach 10 ft."). Unless it has, like, T-rex style atrophied limbs or something.
Remember: the creature's feet are not planted while it attacks. It is constatntly moving, but we simplify that movement by representing it as being present in a 10' X 10' area. If the creature wants to swing into an area 10' away and his arms are not over 5' long, it may lean edge the next square over to get to the target. This level of detail would be too difficult to fully handle in the rules, so we simplify the situation by just giving the creature a 10' reach.
 


I dunno. 3.5e Driders are Large, but they only have 5 ft. reach. It's not totally consistant. Is the critter a one-trick combat monkey (like the Ogre), or is it a flexible weapon and spell user (like the Drider)? Or something in between?

-- N
 

Most large animals have a 5ft reach. It's not just the drider, I think last time I checked that I saw more large thingies without 10ft reach than the other way round.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Back
Top