Menu
News
All News
Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
Pathfinder
Starfinder
Warhammer
2d20 System
Year Zero Engine
Industry News
Reviews
Dragon Reflections
White Dwarf Reflections
Columns
Weekly Digests
Weekly News Digest
Freebies, Sales & Bundles
RPG Print News
RPG Crowdfunding News
Game Content
ENterplanetary DimENsions
Mythological Figures
Opinion
Worlds of Design
Peregrine's Nest
RPG Evolution
Other Columns
From the Freelancing Frontline
Monster ENcyclopedia
WotC/TSR Alumni Look Back
4 Hours w/RSD (Ryan Dancey)
The Road to 3E (Jonathan Tweet)
Greenwood's Realms (Ed Greenwood)
Drawmij's TSR (Jim Ward)
Community
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Resources
Wiki
Pages
Latest activity
Media
New media
New comments
Search media
Downloads
Latest reviews
Search resources
EN Publishing
Store
EN5ider
Adventures in ZEITGEIST
Awfully Cheerful Engine
What's OLD is NEW
Judge Dredd & The Worlds Of 2000AD
War of the Burning Sky
Level Up: Advanced 5E
Events & Releases
Upcoming Events
Private Events
Featured Events
Socials!
EN Publishing
Twitter
BlueSky
Facebook
Instagram
EN World
BlueSky
YouTube
Facebook
Twitter
Twitch
Podcast
Features
Top 5 RPGs Compiled Charts 2004-Present
Adventure Game Industry Market Research Summary (RPGs) V1.0
Ryan Dancey: Acquiring TSR
Q&A With Gary Gygax
D&D Rules FAQs
TSR, WotC, & Paizo: A Comparative History
D&D Pronunciation Guide
Million Dollar TTRPG Kickstarters
Tabletop RPG Podcast Hall of Fame
Eric Noah's Unofficial D&D 3rd Edition News
D&D in the Mainstream
D&D & RPG History
About Morrus
Log in
Register
What's new
Search
Search
Search titles only
By:
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Menu
Log in
Register
Install the app
Install
Upgrade your account to a Community Supporter account and remove most of the site ads.
Enchanted Trinkets Complete--a hardcover book containing over 500 magic items for your D&D games!
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
Large creatures attack
JavaScript is disabled. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser before proceeding.
You are using an out of date browser. It may not display this or other websites correctly.
You should upgrade or use an
alternative browser
.
Reply to thread
Message
<blockquote data-quote="DarkLord Of DForce" data-source="post: 5170525" data-attributes="member: 85416"><p>Okay, we had this come up in our session last night., we were fighting 2 Behirs with our level 12 party.</p><p></p><p>First of all, here is the stats card for the Behirs:</p><p></p><p>Behir</p><p>Huge natural magical beast</p><p>Level 14 Solo Soldier</p><p>X P J ,000</p><p>Initiative see lightning reflexes Senses Perception +12;</p><p>tremorsense 10</p><p>Lightning Storm aura 5; an enemy that starts its turn in the aura</p><p>takes S lightning damage.</p><p>HP 564; Bloodied 282</p><p>AC 30; Fortitude 27, Reflex 26, Will 26</p><p>Resist 15 lightning</p><p>Saving Throws +5</p><p>Speed 7, climb 5</p><p>Action Points 2</p><p>© Claw (standard; at-will)</p><p>Reach 3; +21 vs. AC; 2d8 + 6 damage.</p><p>4 Bite (standard; at-will) • Lightning</p><p>Reach 3; +21 vs. AC; 1d8 + 6 damage plus 1d8 lightning</p><p>damage.</p><p>4 Devour (standard; recharges when no creature is affected by this</p><p>power)</p><p>Reach 3; +19 vs. Reflex; 2d8 + 6 damage, and a Medium or</p><p>smaller target is swallowed. A swallowed target is grabbed</p><p>and restrained. A swallowed creature has line of sight and line</p><p>of effect only to the behir, and no creature has line of sight or</p><p>line of effect to it. A creature that escapes the grab is no longer</p><p>swallowed and appears in a space adjacent to the behir. A behir</p><p>can move normally while it has a target grabbed in this way.</p><p>When the behir dies, the target can escape as a move action,</p><p>appearing in the behir's former space. Sustain Minor: The behir</p><p>sustains the grab, and the target takes 15 damage.</p><p>«£• Lightning Breath (standard; recharge [X] (jj) • Lightning</p><p>Close blast 5; +17 vs. Reflex; 3d10 + 6 lightning damage and the</p><p>target is dazed. Miss: Half damage.</p><p>Thunderleg Stomp (standard; at-will)</p><p>Close burst 3; +17 vs. Fortitude; 1d8 + 6 damage, and the target</p><p>is knocked prone.</p><p>Lightning Reflexes</p><p>The behir acts three times in a round, on initiative counts 30,</p><p>20, and 10. It cannot delay or ready actions. On each turn, it has</p><p>a standard action instead of the normal allotment of actions. It</p><p>can use one immediate action between each pair of turns.</p><p>Alignment Unaligned Languages Common, Draconic</p><p>Str 2 3 (+13) Dex 20 (+12) Wis 21 (+12)</p><p>Con 21 (+12) Int 7 (+5) Cha 13 (+8)</p><p></p><p>Now, the DM ruled that each Behir could devour 2 targets at once, so at any given time during the fight, 3/4 of our 7 man team were "devoured".</p><p></p><p>2nd, at one point, I was behind a team-mate who was adjacent to one of the Behirs. The Dm said it was attacking me. I asked if it was a ranged or area power and he said ranged, and I said ok, because if it was a melee attack, he couldn't use it. The DM said, yes he can. I told him that I didn't think a foe could hit through an opponent with a melee attack to get to another target. He said yes it can, because I said it can, I'm DM. His further argument was that because the creature was a "huge" class, it could simply reach down *over* the adjacent player, rather than through him, to hit me. I disagreed, although I can understand what he's saying. Seems to me the adjacent player would almost get an OA if something did that. </p><p></p><p>Anyways, my argument was that it didn't have Line of Effect, as per PHB1, page 274/275:</p><p></p><p>Line of Effect: You can target a creature or a square</p><p>if there’s an unblocked path between it and you—that</p><p>is, if you have line of effect to it. If every imaginary line</p><p>you trace to a target passes through or touches a solid</p><p>obstacle, you don’t have line of effect to the target.</p><p>Fog, darkness, and other types of obscured squares</p><p></p><p>I've always played that you can not attack any foe on the other side of a foe adjacent to you, and vice-versa, that enemies can't attack you through your other players. (this is melee I'm talking about, mind you), even if it does have Reach3.</p><p></p><p>Can anyone help with this - I'm not looking for "right" or "wrong", but which action would be correct so we'll know how to handle it next time it comes up.</p><p></p><p>Thanks gang.</p></blockquote><p></p>
[QUOTE="DarkLord Of DForce, post: 5170525, member: 85416"] Okay, we had this come up in our session last night., we were fighting 2 Behirs with our level 12 party. First of all, here is the stats card for the Behirs: Behir Huge natural magical beast Level 14 Solo Soldier X P J ,000 Initiative see lightning reflexes Senses Perception +12; tremorsense 10 Lightning Storm aura 5; an enemy that starts its turn in the aura takes S lightning damage. HP 564; Bloodied 282 AC 30; Fortitude 27, Reflex 26, Will 26 Resist 15 lightning Saving Throws +5 Speed 7, climb 5 Action Points 2 © Claw (standard; at-will) Reach 3; +21 vs. AC; 2d8 + 6 damage. 4 Bite (standard; at-will) • Lightning Reach 3; +21 vs. AC; 1d8 + 6 damage plus 1d8 lightning damage. 4 Devour (standard; recharges when no creature is affected by this power) Reach 3; +19 vs. Reflex; 2d8 + 6 damage, and a Medium or smaller target is swallowed. A swallowed target is grabbed and restrained. A swallowed creature has line of sight and line of effect only to the behir, and no creature has line of sight or line of effect to it. A creature that escapes the grab is no longer swallowed and appears in a space adjacent to the behir. A behir can move normally while it has a target grabbed in this way. When the behir dies, the target can escape as a move action, appearing in the behir's former space. Sustain Minor: The behir sustains the grab, and the target takes 15 damage. «£• Lightning Breath (standard; recharge [X] (jj) • Lightning Close blast 5; +17 vs. Reflex; 3d10 + 6 lightning damage and the target is dazed. Miss: Half damage. Thunderleg Stomp (standard; at-will) Close burst 3; +17 vs. Fortitude; 1d8 + 6 damage, and the target is knocked prone. Lightning Reflexes The behir acts three times in a round, on initiative counts 30, 20, and 10. It cannot delay or ready actions. On each turn, it has a standard action instead of the normal allotment of actions. It can use one immediate action between each pair of turns. Alignment Unaligned Languages Common, Draconic Str 2 3 (+13) Dex 20 (+12) Wis 21 (+12) Con 21 (+12) Int 7 (+5) Cha 13 (+8) Now, the DM ruled that each Behir could devour 2 targets at once, so at any given time during the fight, 3/4 of our 7 man team were "devoured". 2nd, at one point, I was behind a team-mate who was adjacent to one of the Behirs. The Dm said it was attacking me. I asked if it was a ranged or area power and he said ranged, and I said ok, because if it was a melee attack, he couldn't use it. The DM said, yes he can. I told him that I didn't think a foe could hit through an opponent with a melee attack to get to another target. He said yes it can, because I said it can, I'm DM. His further argument was that because the creature was a "huge" class, it could simply reach down *over* the adjacent player, rather than through him, to hit me. I disagreed, although I can understand what he's saying. Seems to me the adjacent player would almost get an OA if something did that. Anyways, my argument was that it didn't have Line of Effect, as per PHB1, page 274/275: Line of Effect: You can target a creature or a square if there’s an unblocked path between it and you—that is, if you have line of effect to it. If every imaginary line you trace to a target passes through or touches a solid obstacle, you don’t have line of effect to the target. Fog, darkness, and other types of obscured squares I've always played that you can not attack any foe on the other side of a foe adjacent to you, and vice-versa, that enemies can't attack you through your other players. (this is melee I'm talking about, mind you), even if it does have Reach3. Can anyone help with this - I'm not looking for "right" or "wrong", but which action would be correct so we'll know how to handle it next time it comes up. Thanks gang. [/QUOTE]
Insert quotes…
Verification
Post reply
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
Large creatures attack
Top