Menu
News
All News
Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
Pathfinder
Starfinder
Warhammer
2d20 System
Year Zero Engine
Industry News
Reviews
Dragon Reflections
White Dwarf Reflections
Columns
Weekly Digests
Weekly News Digest
Freebies, Sales & Bundles
RPG Print News
RPG Crowdfunding News
Game Content
ENterplanetary DimENsions
Mythological Figures
Opinion
Worlds of Design
Peregrine's Nest
RPG Evolution
Other Columns
From the Freelancing Frontline
Monster ENcyclopedia
WotC/TSR Alumni Look Back
4 Hours w/RSD (Ryan Dancey)
The Road to 3E (Jonathan Tweet)
Greenwood's Realms (Ed Greenwood)
Drawmij's TSR (Jim Ward)
Community
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Resources
Wiki
Pages
Latest activity
Media
New media
New comments
Search media
Downloads
Latest reviews
Search resources
EN Publishing
Store
EN5ider
Adventures in ZEITGEIST
Awfully Cheerful Engine
What's OLD is NEW
Judge Dredd & The Worlds Of 2000AD
War of the Burning Sky
Level Up: Advanced 5E
Events & Releases
Upcoming Events
Private Events
Featured Events
Socials!
EN Publishing
Twitter
BlueSky
Facebook
Instagram
EN World
BlueSky
YouTube
Facebook
Twitter
Twitch
Podcast
Features
Top 5 RPGs Compiled Charts 2004-Present
Adventure Game Industry Market Research Summary (RPGs) V1.0
Ryan Dancey: Acquiring TSR
Q&A With Gary Gygax
D&D Rules FAQs
TSR, WotC, & Paizo: A Comparative History
D&D Pronunciation Guide
Million Dollar TTRPG Kickstarters
Tabletop RPG Podcast Hall of Fame
Eric Noah's Unofficial D&D 3rd Edition News
D&D in the Mainstream
D&D & RPG History
About Morrus
Log in
Register
What's new
Search
Search
Search titles only
By:
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Menu
Log in
Register
Install the app
Install
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Dungeons & Dragons
Maximillian's earthen grasp and spell range
JavaScript is disabled. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser before proceeding.
You are using an out of date browser. It may not display this or other websites correctly.
You should upgrade or use an
alternative browser
.
Reply to thread
Message
<blockquote data-quote="CanadienneBacon" data-source="post: 6859723" data-attributes="member: 11146"><p><a href="http://ephe.github.io/grimoire/spells/maximilians-earthen-grasp" target="_blank"><em>Maximillian's earthen grasp</em></a> provides that "[a]s an action, you can cause the hand to reach for a different creature or to move to a different unoccupied space <strong>within range.</strong>" Emphasis mine.</p><p></p><p>If a spellcaster casts the spell and directs it to attack a creature within the specified 30' range, then in a subsequent round moves out of range of the hand, what happens to the hand? Does it vanish (wasting a 2nd level spell!)? Does the hand move automatically until it is once again within range of its caster (like a puppy trailing after its master)? Does the hand let go of a creature it had been grappling? Does the hand continue grappling a creature it previously squeezed? </p><p></p><p>What if the player used his Bonus Action to cast a quickened spell, and his Action to disengage (and move out of range of the hand), but failed to say anything about how to treat the earthen hand he'd previously cast? The spell description provides that moving the hand and/or directing the hand to switch targets to squeeze requires an Action, but is a little vague about how to treat range when the caster's moved away.</p><p></p><p>My take is that the caster has to be within 30' of the hand to be able to direct or move the hand. I think the spell description is reasonably clear on that. My main question, however, is what happens to the hand when the caster moves out of range? At a minimum, I think it ought to let go of any creature it might have been squeezing. I'm unclear, however, whether the spell should end, or if the hand sticks around, where should it go and what should it be doing? Letting the hand move feels a little bit like giving the player a free Action that he wouldn't otherwise be entitled to since he used his Action to disengage. But, then again, I'm not entirely comfortable ruling that a 2nd level spell ends automatically once the spellcaster moves out of range. This is for a party of fourth level characters, mind you, so a 2nd level spell is a huge resource. I should additionally clarify that it's for a PbP game, so efficiency is paramount, particularly when we're in the middle of combat rounds...no time for the kind of back-and-forth you'd normally expect during a tabletop game. I'd very much appreciate answers that take the PbP environment into consideration (at a table, obviously I'd simply prompt the player with something like, "Hey, dude, what about your character's earthen hand, you moving that or disengaging?"). I s'pose, even if this were a tabletop game, the meta-question of what happens to the hand remains.</p><p></p><p>I'll take another look at PHB 202-203 and the spell description in the morning with fresh eyes, but in the interim I'd love to hear from the field.</p></blockquote><p></p>
[QUOTE="CanadienneBacon, post: 6859723, member: 11146"] [url=http://ephe.github.io/grimoire/spells/maximilians-earthen-grasp][i]Maximillian's earthen grasp[/I][/url] provides that "[a]s an action, you can cause the hand to reach for a different creature or to move to a different unoccupied space [b]within range.[/b]" Emphasis mine. If a spellcaster casts the spell and directs it to attack a creature within the specified 30' range, then in a subsequent round moves out of range of the hand, what happens to the hand? Does it vanish (wasting a 2nd level spell!)? Does the hand move automatically until it is once again within range of its caster (like a puppy trailing after its master)? Does the hand let go of a creature it had been grappling? Does the hand continue grappling a creature it previously squeezed? What if the player used his Bonus Action to cast a quickened spell, and his Action to disengage (and move out of range of the hand), but failed to say anything about how to treat the earthen hand he'd previously cast? The spell description provides that moving the hand and/or directing the hand to switch targets to squeeze requires an Action, but is a little vague about how to treat range when the caster's moved away. My take is that the caster has to be within 30' of the hand to be able to direct or move the hand. I think the spell description is reasonably clear on that. My main question, however, is what happens to the hand when the caster moves out of range? At a minimum, I think it ought to let go of any creature it might have been squeezing. I'm unclear, however, whether the spell should end, or if the hand sticks around, where should it go and what should it be doing? Letting the hand move feels a little bit like giving the player a free Action that he wouldn't otherwise be entitled to since he used his Action to disengage. But, then again, I'm not entirely comfortable ruling that a 2nd level spell ends automatically once the spellcaster moves out of range. This is for a party of fourth level characters, mind you, so a 2nd level spell is a huge resource. I should additionally clarify that it's for a PbP game, so efficiency is paramount, particularly when we're in the middle of combat rounds...no time for the kind of back-and-forth you'd normally expect during a tabletop game. I'd very much appreciate answers that take the PbP environment into consideration (at a table, obviously I'd simply prompt the player with something like, "Hey, dude, what about your character's earthen hand, you moving that or disengaging?"). I s'pose, even if this were a tabletop game, the meta-question of what happens to the hand remains. I'll take another look at PHB 202-203 and the spell description in the morning with fresh eyes, but in the interim I'd love to hear from the field. [/QUOTE]
Insert quotes…
Verification
Post reply
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Dungeons & Dragons
Maximillian's earthen grasp and spell range
Top