Mike's Awesome Adventures

the-golem

Explorer
A little bit of background:
I started playing in a new D&D 4e campaign on Tue, Jan 18 2011. Technically. Before the first group session, I had the pleasure of doing a 1-on-1 background session with the DM the Sunday before. (So, the 16th)

It's this Sunday session that I bring to you, to be soon followed by the Tuesday session, and hopefully, any other session following. I haven't done much creative writing before, so I'm using this as an avenue for that creativity. I'd appreciate any comments y'all might have. I hope you all enjoy.

I've also attached the original RTF version of this post, in case anyone wants to download it and peruse it that way.

--------------------------------------

Fallcrest.

I haven’t been here since… since before I was stationed over at Hammerfast. I’ve forgotten how busy this city is, mused Henrik as he entered the Vale’s main hub of civilization. Since Fallcrest is centrally located within Nentir Vale, most traffic invariably finds its way to (or through) the city.

Henrik enjoyed the bustling sounds of the city; it was a welcome change from the quiet and tedium that surrounded his previous assignment. His orders specified he was to report to the Captain of the Guard right at dawn the next morning, so Henrik took his time meandering through the nooks and crannies of the city, before retiring for the night.

“Corporal Henrik reporting, sir!”

“Ah, yes. Enter,” replied the captain, giving his subordinate a cursory glance as he entered the room. “You’re quite the punctual one, aren’t you, lad? I haven’t even had the pleasure of a good cup of coffee yet, and here you are. I take it your trip from Hammerfast went well, yes? No complications? Name’s Rumice Kingpost by the way.” The Captain of the Guard took a slow sip from a steaming mug before continuing.