Mount withdraws - Rider not - AoO?

Thanee

First Post
Had this question recently on another message board...

When a rider steers his mount away from an opponent, letting the mount do a Withdraw action...

Can the rider act normally without provoking an AoO for movement (while leaving the first square)?
If not, is there any way, for a rider to not provoke an AoO for movement in this case?

The Withdraw action states, that you can only use it with a mode of movement, you have a listed speed for, which certainly does not apply to riding, so the rider cannot use the Withdraw action.

Bye
Thanee
 

log in or register to remove this ad

That's a toughie.

I might allow a withdraw in that situation with a suitable Riding roll, say, DC15 or 20.
Unless, it was an intelligent mount that decided to withdraw (rather than simply run away because it was scared) and took the rider with it.
 

If a rider can get the charge action from a moving mount then I'd allow them both to use the Withdraw action.

If the mount withdraws and the rider doesn't he draws AoO. Although they are the same unit for movement purposes they still get separate sets of actions and draw AoO individually.
 

The rider does not have to Withdraw when the horse does so, but neither does he gain the benefit. Or vice versa. Seems like a fair deal tactically.

By the letter of the rules, any moving creature can provoke an AoO unless it is can take advantage of one of the exceptions included in the PHB. This case is not included in the PHB.
 


Thanee said:
Had this question recently on another message board...

When a rider steers his mount away from an opponent, letting the mount do a Withdraw action...

Can the rider act normally without provoking an AoO for movement (while leaving the first square)?
If not, is there any way, for a rider to not provoke an AoO for movement in this case?

The Withdraw action states, that you can only use it with a mode of movement, you have a listed speed for, which certainly does not apply to riding, so the rider cannot use the Withdraw action.
If the rider is directing the mount, then they act like one unit. So both rider and mount are withdrawing. Rider take some other action while withdrawing may provoke AoO.
 

A succsessfull ride check allows the player to guide the horse with his legs, leaving his arms free for combat. (I think I read this somewhere, Phb maybe?)

It seems that the horse will do the moving and the rider can defend and parry at the same time, not drawing an AoO.
 

Try this...

You can drop down to one side of the mount and get yourself cover (with a successful ride check). An opponent can't make an AoO against you if he has cover relative to you.

Would that work?
 

RigaMortus said:
You can drop down to one side of the mount and get yourself cover (with a successful ride check). An opponent can't make an AoO against you if he has cover relative to you.

Would that work?

Sure would.

DC 15 Ride check for cover. Not an action according to skill (although you cannot cast spells or attack while riding in this manner).
 


Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top