Mounted Jump Check, Hold Person

Lord Zardoz

Explorer
Two questions, 1 thread! Bonus.

First, I would like some clarification on how a mounted jump check is meant to work. The rules give a DC 15, but then they also say to use the mounts jump check or the ride check of the rider. At the time, I broke it into 2 check, the DC 15 ride check to convince the mount to jump, then the Jump check made by the horse to see how far it could jump.

Second, a player wanted to use hold person on a Minotaur. My gut said that this was not permitted, but the spell its self is not very clear on what constitutes a person. Hold monster mentions size, but the spell its self did not mention any specific size limits.

So what traits disqualify any given creature from being subject to a Hold Person if they are basically humanoid (2 arms, 2 legs, and of this plane). Second to that, would a Draconian be a Person (2 arms, 2 legs, 2 wings, usually man sized).

END COMMUNICATION
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Hold person affects a "humanoid", which is a specific category. It's usually the first or second line in a monster's stat block, in fact. A minotaur is a "monstrous humanoid", which is a different category to humanoid.
 

Thanks.

I could still use clarification on the mounted jump check though.

Jump by its self is straight forward, 1 square for every 5 points on the check.

The table that comes with the Ride check gives a Leap a DC of 15. Then it says the following:

Leap: You can get your mount to leap obstacles as part of its movement. Use your Ride modifier or the mount's Jump modifier, whichever is lower, to see how far the creature can jump. If you fail your ride check, you fall off the mount when it leaps and take the appropriate falling damage (at least 1d6 points). This usage does not take an action, but is part of the mount's movement.

What is not immediately clear to me is if this act takes two different checks, or is part of one check. My interpretation was as I said before:

1) DC 15 Ride check to get the mount to leap.
2) Standard jump check using the mounts jump check to determine distance covered.

Is this correct?

END COMMUNICATION
 

Lord Zardoz said:
What is not immediately clear to me is if this act takes two different checks, or is part of one check. My interpretation was as I said before:

1) DC 15 Ride check to get the mount to leap.
2) Standard jump check using the mounts jump check to determine distance covered.

Is this correct?
I don't think your reading is correct. The way I read that part of ride is

Roll the D20 and remember that number
If your ride result is less than 15, you fall off.
Use that number and the lower modifier of either your ride or the mount's jump to determine your jump distance.
 

It is 2 checks.

1.) DC 15 to convince your mount to jump. If you don't make 15, you don't convince the mount to Jump. If you do, go to #2.

2.) Make a Jump check, using either your "ride modifier, or your mount's Jump modifier, whichever is lower".

Note the term modifer when they mention it, not check. If it was one roll, they would say "Ride check or mount's Jump modifer, whichever is lower".
 

Remove ads

Top