move + 5 ft step

Dark Dragon

Explorer
Hi folks,

obviously I'm cursed with blindness (since my druid blasted accidently a poor cook with a Sunbeam during the last session...), but I'm quite sure that a hasted charakter CAN'T make a move during his normal round AND make 5 ft. step before or after his partial action (gained by Haste).

The problem: where in the books is this rule? Or does it not exist? Links to other threads regarding this matter would be great, too.

*Dark Dragon searching his brain while trying to remove some pumpkins from his eyes*
 

log in or register to remove this ad

[Nonsense deleted.]

[Edit]

Duh, that was an answer to a totally different question. Must concentrate on reading the question before writing the answer....

You can take a normal movement during your normal actions, as well as a 5' step during the hasted partial action.

The last 5' step would of course still provoke AoOs as it's not the only movement during the round.
 
Last edited:


Here's a Sage response to a very similar question:
If I am hasted, can I take a 5ft step as part of my normal action and then another one as part of my hasted (partial) action?

No. You are only allowed one 5 ft-step per turn, and then only if you take no other movement actions.
 


That is a response to an email that I sent him the last time we went over this issue on these boards. It was sent to me on Feb 10th, 2002 by David Eckelberry [David.Eckelberry@wizards.com].
 

mkletch said:
Is this in the FAQ, or was it just an email conversation?

Email, but this one is from the FAQ...


&nbsp&nbsp&nbspIs there any limit to how many 5-foot steps a master
samurai can make when using the supreme cleave ability?
The Cleave feat says you can attack another creature in the
immediate vicinity when you drop a foe with a melee attack.
What is the definition of "immediate vicinity?" How does
that change when using supreme cleave?

&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp A character can take only one 5-foot step each round, and
then only if the character has not otherwise moved during the
round.
Supreme cleave lets you step between cleave attacks,
but you still can step only once.
&nbsp&nbsp&nbspIn the case of Cleave, "immediate vicinity" means within
melee reach. A character using supreme cleave can first take a
5-foot step to determine who is within melee reach before
choosing a target for a cleave attack.
 

And I too, have received personal email from the Sage confirming the same thing. His ruling is that the "per turn" and "per round" limitations are exactly that -- not per action, and not sidestepped by haste.

I would personally prefer for this ruling to be in the other direction.
 


Remove ads

Top