Move interrupted by forced move question

shaomonksn

First Post
A PC moves, at some point in that move provokes an opportunity attack, gets hit by the opportunity attack which slides the character.

How does one handle this situation?

Move aborted or continued after resolution of slide?

Does the PC get to change his destination before continuing the move?

I would assume the resolution is no different if this happens because of immediate interrupt instead of basic attack (opportunity action)?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

These answers are mine, and I think they are RAW, but I could be wrong.

Move aborted or continued after resolution of slide?
If the moving character had movement left when the movement was interrupted, they get to use it, so continued.

Does the PC get to change his destination before continuing the move?
Yes. You can decide which square to move to next each time you move in to another square. Most DMs will let you turn a charge into a move action, if new information limits your ability to charge.

I would assume the resolution is no different if this happens because of immediate interrupt instead of basic attack (opportunity action)?
Correct.

As a related matter, opportunity and immediate actions that slow work weirdly: if a character has already moved two or more squares as part of a "walk" action, and then gets slowed, the character cannot move further: they've already moved enough to hit the "slowed" limit. So the character could move three squares and then find him- or herself unable to move further.
 


As a related matter, opportunity and immediate actions that slow work weirdly: if a character has already moved two or more squares as part of a "walk" action, and then gets slowed, the character cannot move further: they've already moved enough to hit the "slowed" limit. So the character could move three squares and then find him- or herself unable to move further.

I assume its similar if a character is knocked prone? Their move action would end, but could spend another move action to stand if they wished and had the remaining action?

Trit
 

I would allow that you could continue to crawl if you wanted to after being knocked prone and still had movement points left, but I'm not excluding the possibility that some rule might exist to prohibit this.
 


I would allow that you could continue to crawl if you wanted to after being knocked prone and still had movement points left, but I'm not excluding the possibility that some rule might exist to prohibit this.
Not under RAW because walk and crawl are separate actions. But it's a sensible ruling, and I would advocate doing the same.
 




Remove ads

Top