Moving through a friend's square...

rushlight

Roll for Initiative!
Okay, for some reason, our group has been under the impression that you can't move through a friend's square when that friend is in melee. However, I've just discovered a small paragraph at the bottom of PHB page 147: "You can move thorugh a square occupied by a friendly character unless you are charging."

Is that all there is? Or is there a rule somewhere else that limits movement through characters in melee?

Thanks!
 

log in or register to remove this ad


I've seen a lot of DM's add what they think are "logial" restrictions. Like you can't move through a square with an invisible ally, or when you are invisible.

I don't know if these fall under house rules, or DM's discretion. But there isn't anything in print to support the ruling.
 

rushlight said:
Is that all there is? Or is there a rule somewhere else that limits movement through characters in melee?

That's it. Note that in 3.0 there wasn't even a restriction on charging (it was added in 3.5). Note further that the DMG says that when out-of-combat, you can even end your turn in someone else's space.

I think it's likely some people see the 3.5 "no charge through friendly spaces" and they accidentally remember it as generally "no move through friendly spaces".
 


Another thing, if a creature is paralyzed in a square, that squares counts double.
(i.e. the square is treated as with an obstacle)
 

sfedi said:
Another thing, if a creature is paralyzed in a square, that squares counts double.
(i.e. the square is treated as with an obstacle)

Not always.

Opponent: You can’t move through a square occupied by an opponent, unless the opponent is helpless. You can move through a square occupied by a helpless opponent without penalty. (Some creatures, particularly very large ones, may present an obstacle even when helpless. In such cases, each square you move through counts as 2 squares.)

Square Occupied by Creature Three Sizes Larger or Smaller: Any creature can move through a square occupied by a creature three size categories larger than it is.

A big creature can move through a square occupied by a creature three size categories smaller than it is.


It only counts double if it presents an obstacle. A paralyzed orc doesn't. A paralyzed purple worm might.

-Hyp.
 

tumble and AAO

Obviously, moving close to an enemy (or even ´"through/below/above" an enemy) may or may not provoke AAOs (depending on reach, sight and zillion other things).

Thus, if your friend PC is enganged in meleé, and you want to move through that PCs square, tumble could come in very handy.
 

Remove ads

Top