My Necromancer can't keep his hands off you!

Grundle

First Post
With spells like Chill Touch, Ghoul Touch, and Vampiric Touch the necromancer has got to be the most touchy feelie class in the game!

But seriously, how do you adjudicate all that hands-on goodness?

:) Does the local necromancer wake up first thing in the morning and cast vampiric touch on one hand, chill touch on the other, and walk around the rest of the day loaded for bear?

:) I suppose shaking hands is out of the question, but can he touch and use objects in this state?

:) Does having these spells "up" interfere with the casting of successive spells? In other words, can he cast other spells without discharging the touch attack spells?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Have you read the rules on touch spells? They're in the Magic Overview section.

When you have your hand "charged" with a touch spell, casting any other spell will cause the charge to be lost. Ditto if you touch or manipulate anything with that hand.
 

And don't forget,... he does not have to have these spells already cast. He simply casts them next to the opponent (prolly defensively) then touches him.... voila. He could even move normally.

Standard action to cast, move and touch an opponent.
 

Grundle said:
With spells like Chill Touch, Ghoul Touch, and Vampiric Touch the necromancer has got to be the most touchy feelie class in the game!

But seriously, how do you adjudicate all that hands-on goodness?

:) Does the local necromancer wake up first thing in the morning and cast vampiric touch on one hand, chill touch on the other, and walk around the rest of the day loaded for bear?
No. Vampiric Touch has a duration of 1 hour, so he cannot keep it all day ready to use. Plus, if you cast another spell while a touch spell still remains, the touch spell dissipates. Even if he could do this it would be very difficult not touching anything with his hand during the day, accidentally discharging the spell. Check out the PH, page 126, Holding the Charge.

:) I suppose shaking hands is out of the question, but can he touch and use objects in this state?
Yes, but he loses the charge when he does.

:) Does having these spells "up" interfere with the casting of successive spells? In other words, can he cast other spells without discharging the touch attack spells?
See above. He can cast another spell without a problem, but he loses the touch spell in the process.
 


Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top