Menu
News
All News
Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
Pathfinder
Starfinder
Warhammer
2d20 System
Year Zero Engine
Industry News
Reviews
Dragon Reflections
White Dwarf Reflections
Columns
Weekly Digests
Weekly News Digest
Freebies, Sales & Bundles
RPG Print News
RPG Crowdfunding News
Game Content
ENterplanetary DimENsions
Mythological Figures
Opinion
Worlds of Design
Peregrine's Nest
RPG Evolution
Other Columns
From the Freelancing Frontline
Monster ENcyclopedia
WotC/TSR Alumni Look Back
4 Hours w/RSD (Ryan Dancey)
The Road to 3E (Jonathan Tweet)
Greenwood's Realms (Ed Greenwood)
Drawmij's TSR (Jim Ward)
Community
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Resources
Wiki
Pages
Latest activity
Media
New media
New comments
Search media
Downloads
Latest reviews
Search resources
EN Publishing
Store
EN5ider
Adventures in ZEITGEIST
Awfully Cheerful Engine
What's OLD is NEW
Judge Dredd & The Worlds Of 2000AD
War of the Burning Sky
Level Up: Advanced 5E
Events & Releases
Upcoming Events
Private Events
Featured Events
Socials!
EN Publishing
Twitter
BlueSky
Facebook
Instagram
EN World
BlueSky
YouTube
Facebook
Twitter
Twitch
Podcast
Features
Top 5 RPGs Compiled Charts 2004-Present
Adventure Game Industry Market Research Summary (RPGs) V1.0
Ryan Dancey: Acquiring TSR
Q&A With Gary Gygax
D&D Rules FAQs
TSR, WotC, & Paizo: A Comparative History
D&D Pronunciation Guide
Million Dollar TTRPG Kickstarters
Tabletop RPG Podcast Hall of Fame
Eric Noah's Unofficial D&D 3rd Edition News
D&D in the Mainstream
D&D & RPG History
About Morrus
Log in
Register
What's new
Search
Search
Search titles only
By:
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Menu
Log in
Register
Install the app
Install
Upgrade your account to a Community Supporter account and remove most of the site ads.
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Dungeons & Dragons
My Quick and Dirty Tasha Read
JavaScript is disabled. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser before proceeding.
You are using an out of date browser. It may not display this or other websites correctly.
You should upgrade or use an
alternative browser
.
Reply to thread
Message
<blockquote data-quote="Chaosmancer" data-source="post: 8139858" data-attributes="member: 6801228"><p>But it shows the fundamental problem with your assertion. You did not take the Attack action, you dodged. Therefore you don't qualify for the Two-Weapon Fighting. What you are proposing is basically disguising other actions as attack actions. Which is not something the game currently allows.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>RAI does not always need the designer telling us what it is. This ability is very explicity in how it works, and when it works.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>I hate doing this thing, but quoting Vocabulary.com on "When should you use moreover"</p><p></p><p>"Breaking moreover into more and over helps you remember what it means:<strong><u> more information over what has already been said</u></strong>. When you hear someone use moreover that tips you off that <strong><u>whatever follows is going to relate to what came before</u></strong>. You can think of moreover as a formal way of saying besides." </p><p></p><p>"Moreover" and "additionally" are very similiar and used in very similar contexts. But, they have differences. And the big difference with "moreover" is that it is much more explicitly linking what came before and what comes after. While "additionally" can be used to show something that is not as related.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>How can you possibly read "one of those attacks" as any attack? It clearly indicates by saying "one of those" as refering to a set of more than one. </p><p></p><p>If I pointed to a plate and said that you can eat "one of those cookies" and there is only one cookie, you would be slightly confused. Maybe you would think there used to be more, maybe you would think that there are cookies you can't see, but my sentence doesn't make sense if there is only one cookie. </p><p></p><p>For your reading of this ability, it would have to say "Moreover<u><strong><u>,</u></strong></u> you can cast one of your cantrips in place of <strong><u>an </u></strong>attack." That is the phrasing you would need, and that is not what you have.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>There are a few key differences. </p><p></p><p>1) You are not required to use all of your attacks when you take the Attack Action and have Extra Attack</p><p>2) In your scenario there is nothing that would prevent you from taking the "Cast a Spell" action, so even if that is the only thing you do, that is still a legal move. </p><p></p><p>And my explanation still holds up, following this. 1)You declare you are taking the Attack Action, 2) you "load up" your extra attack feature. 2b) You then get to determine which of those attacks is a cantrip. 3) Then you roll to hit. </p><p></p><p>Haste doesn't do this. Haste specifically prevents #2, you cannot use your Extra Attack feature. Since you cannot do #2, you can't do #2b which relies on having activated the feature first. So you jump straight to rolling to hit.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>I know you didn't say that. That is why I know that your reading is wrong, because your reading would allow for the Two-Weapon Fighting attack to be turned into a cantrip. Since we both agree that is wrong, we should be able to agree that turning an attack into a cantrip is only allowed when you are using Extra Attack. Because of the examples I gave with other "actions turned to bonus actions" </p><p></p><p>Haste lets you take a special attack action that is only a single attack. It cannot reactivate Extra Attack. Since you can't activate your extra attack, you can't change an attack to a cantrip.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>You are not listening, but since you seem to want me to keep quoting the PHB, here we go. </p><p></p><p>Two-Weapon Fighting</p><p></p><p>"When you take the <strong>Attack action</strong> and attack with a light melee weapon that you're holding in one hand, you can use a <strong><u>bonus action to attack </u></strong>with a different light melee weapon that you're holding in the other hand."</p><p></p><p>Attacks of Opportunity</p><p></p><p>"You can make an opportunity attack when a hostile creature that you can see moves out of your reach. To make the opportunity attack, you use your r<strong><u>eaction to make one melee attack against the provoking creature.</u></strong> The attack occurs right before the creature leaves your reach."</p><p></p><p>"If there's ever any question whether something you're doing counts as an attack, the rule is simple: <strong><u>if you're making an attack roll, you're making an attack.</u></strong>"</p><p></p><p></p><p>So, what does this tell us?</p><p></p><p>It seems that, perhaps, you might be right that a Bonus Action Attack is not the Attack action. Looking through the monk, they are always very explicit though</p><p></p><p>"When you use the Attack action with an unarmed strike or a monk weapon on your turn, you can make <strong>one unarmed strike</strong> as a bonus action."</p><p></p><p>"Immediately after you take the Attack action on your turn, you can spend 1 ki point to make<strong> two unarmed strikes</strong> as a bonus action."</p><p></p><p>Now, this is odd. Why would they need to keep specifying the number of attacks you are allowed with Attacks of Opportunity, Martial Arts, and Flurry of Blows? I mean, if we are meant to read Two-Weapon Fighting as that a Bonus Action attack can not activate Extra attack, why then have all of these other places that specify how many attacks you get, closing the possibility of using Extra Attack? </p><p></p><p>I mean, according to you, none of these are the Attack Action. They are attacks that don't have a name. There is nothing that is an attack but not an attack action unless you are talking about spell attacks. </p><p></p><p>So, looking at Attacks of Opportunity and the wording of the monk, since they all specify the number of attacks you get to make, I propose that the intent is generally that attacking is an Attack, whether it is an action or a bonus action, or a reaction. Just like Dodging is the Dodge Action no matter how you use it. </p><p></p><p>Two-Weapon Fighting then is the outlier, and probably should have the word "single" in the text to indicate this.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>Your action is the spell. You took the "Cast a Spell" action, the only reason you get to make an attack roll is because of the text of the spell, which is gone. You don't get to benefit from a canceled spell. </p><p></p><p>And this is already 100% covered in Sage Advice</p></blockquote><p></p>
[QUOTE="Chaosmancer, post: 8139858, member: 6801228"] But it shows the fundamental problem with your assertion. You did not take the Attack action, you dodged. Therefore you don't qualify for the Two-Weapon Fighting. What you are proposing is basically disguising other actions as attack actions. Which is not something the game currently allows. RAI does not always need the designer telling us what it is. This ability is very explicity in how it works, and when it works. I hate doing this thing, but quoting Vocabulary.com on "When should you use moreover"[U][/U] "Breaking moreover into more and over helps you remember what it means:[B][U] more information over what has already been said[/U][/B]. When you hear someone use moreover that tips you off that [B][U]whatever follows is going to relate to what came before[/U][/B]. You can think of moreover as a formal way of saying besides." "Moreover" and "additionally" are very similiar and used in very similar contexts. But, they have differences. And the big difference with "moreover" is that it is much more explicitly linking what came before and what comes after. While "additionally" can be used to show something that is not as related. How can you possibly read "one of those attacks" as any attack? It clearly indicates by saying "one of those" as refering to a set of more than one. If I pointed to a plate and said that you can eat "one of those cookies" and there is only one cookie, you would be slightly confused. Maybe you would think there used to be more, maybe you would think that there are cookies you can't see, but my sentence doesn't make sense if there is only one cookie. For your reading of this ability, it would have to say "Moreover[U][B][U],[/U][/B][/U] you can cast one of your cantrips in place of [B][U]an [/U][/B]attack." That is the phrasing you would need, and that is not what you have. There are a few key differences. 1) You are not required to use all of your attacks when you take the Attack Action and have Extra Attack 2) In your scenario there is nothing that would prevent you from taking the "Cast a Spell" action, so even if that is the only thing you do, that is still a legal move. And my explanation still holds up, following this. 1)You declare you are taking the Attack Action, 2) you "load up" your extra attack feature. 2b) You then get to determine which of those attacks is a cantrip. 3) Then you roll to hit. Haste doesn't do this. Haste specifically prevents #2, you cannot use your Extra Attack feature. Since you cannot do #2, you can't do #2b which relies on having activated the feature first. So you jump straight to rolling to hit. I know you didn't say that. That is why I know that your reading is wrong, because your reading would allow for the Two-Weapon Fighting attack to be turned into a cantrip. Since we both agree that is wrong, we should be able to agree that turning an attack into a cantrip is only allowed when you are using Extra Attack. Because of the examples I gave with other "actions turned to bonus actions" Haste lets you take a special attack action that is only a single attack. It cannot reactivate Extra Attack. Since you can't activate your extra attack, you can't change an attack to a cantrip. You are not listening, but since you seem to want me to keep quoting the PHB, here we go. Two-Weapon Fighting "When you take the [B]Attack action[/B] and attack with a light melee weapon that you're holding in one hand, you can use a [B][U]bonus action to attack [/U][/B]with a different light melee weapon that you're holding in the other hand." Attacks of Opportunity "You can make an opportunity attack when a hostile creature that you can see moves out of your reach. To make the opportunity attack, you use your r[B][U]eaction to make one melee attack against the provoking creature.[/U][/B] The attack occurs right before the creature leaves your reach."[U][/U] "If there's ever any question whether something you're doing counts as an attack, the rule is simple: [B][U]if you're making an attack roll, you're making an attack.[/U][/B]" So, what does this tell us? It seems that, perhaps, you might be right that a Bonus Action Attack is not the Attack action. Looking through the monk, they are always very explicit though "When you use the Attack action with an unarmed strike or a monk weapon on your turn, you can make [B]one unarmed strike[/B] as a bonus action." "Immediately after you take the Attack action on your turn, you can spend 1 ki point to make[B] two unarmed strikes[/B] as a bonus action." Now, this is odd. Why would they need to keep specifying the number of attacks you are allowed with Attacks of Opportunity, Martial Arts, and Flurry of Blows? I mean, if we are meant to read Two-Weapon Fighting as that a Bonus Action attack can not activate Extra attack, why then have all of these other places that specify how many attacks you get, closing the possibility of using Extra Attack? I mean, according to you, none of these are the Attack Action. They are attacks that don't have a name. There is nothing that is an attack but not an attack action unless you are talking about spell attacks. So, looking at Attacks of Opportunity and the wording of the monk, since they all specify the number of attacks you get to make, I propose that the intent is generally that attacking is an Attack, whether it is an action or a bonus action, or a reaction. Just like Dodging is the Dodge Action no matter how you use it. Two-Weapon Fighting then is the outlier, and probably should have the word "single" in the text to indicate this. Your action is the spell. You took the "Cast a Spell" action, the only reason you get to make an attack roll is because of the text of the spell, which is gone. You don't get to benefit from a canceled spell. And this is already 100% covered in Sage Advice [/QUOTE]
Insert quotes…
Verification
Post reply
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Dungeons & Dragons
My Quick and Dirty Tasha Read
Top