Menu
News
All News
Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
Pathfinder
Starfinder
Warhammer
2d20 System
Year Zero Engine
Industry News
Reviews
Dragon Reflections
White Dwarf Reflections
Columns
Weekly Digests
Weekly News Digest
Freebies, Sales & Bundles
RPG Print News
RPG Crowdfunding News
Game Content
ENterplanetary DimENsions
Mythological Figures
Opinion
Worlds of Design
Peregrine's Nest
RPG Evolution
Other Columns
From the Freelancing Frontline
Monster ENcyclopedia
WotC/TSR Alumni Look Back
4 Hours w/RSD (Ryan Dancey)
The Road to 3E (Jonathan Tweet)
Greenwood's Realms (Ed Greenwood)
Drawmij's TSR (Jim Ward)
Community
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Resources
Wiki
Pages
Latest activity
Media
New media
New comments
Search media
Downloads
Latest reviews
Search resources
EN Publishing
Store
EN5ider
Adventures in ZEITGEIST
Awfully Cheerful Engine
What's OLD is NEW
Judge Dredd & The Worlds Of 2000AD
War of the Burning Sky
Level Up: Advanced 5E
Events & Releases
Upcoming Events
Private Events
Featured Events
Socials!
EN Publishing
Twitter
BlueSky
Facebook
Instagram
EN World
BlueSky
YouTube
Facebook
Twitter
Twitch
Podcast
Features
Top 5 RPGs Compiled Charts 2004-Present
Adventure Game Industry Market Research Summary (RPGs) V1.0
Ryan Dancey: Acquiring TSR
Q&A With Gary Gygax
D&D Rules FAQs
TSR, WotC, & Paizo: A Comparative History
D&D Pronunciation Guide
Million Dollar TTRPG Kickstarters
Tabletop RPG Podcast Hall of Fame
Eric Noah's Unofficial D&D 3rd Edition News
D&D in the Mainstream
D&D & RPG History
About Morrus
Log in
Register
What's new
Search
Search
Search titles only
By:
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Menu
Log in
Register
Install the app
Install
Upgrade your account to a Community Supporter account and remove most of the site ads.
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
Nasty trick - will it work?
JavaScript is disabled. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser before proceeding.
You are using an out of date browser. It may not display this or other websites correctly.
You should upgrade or use an
alternative browser
.
Reply to thread
Message
<blockquote data-quote="KarinsDad" data-source="post: 1284231" data-attributes="member: 2011"><p>You are assuming that "comes into effect" means that the spell is successful. Granted, that is not normally a bad assumption, but it is when there is a question on the rules.</p><p></p><p>The quoted rule:</p><p></p><p>"Most spells have a casting time of 1 standard action. A spell cast in this manner immediately takes effect."</p><p></p><p>states that the effect is immediate. No ANDS, IFS, BUTS, or MAYBES. A different rule (like AoO or Readying) can change whether the effect occurs, but that does not mean that the effect is not immediate. It is just an immediate effect that did not occur.</p><p></p><p></p><p>There are two basic ways to interpret the two rules I quoted:</p><p></p><p>1) My way. Standard actions are like atoms. They are basically indivisible. If you start one, you minimally attempt to finish it. You may be prevented from finishing it, but you at least always attempt to start what you finish.</p><p></p><p>2) Your way. Standard action have a start and an execution. If you get interrupted (whether that interruption is successful or not), then you do not need to execute the action that you started.</p><p></p><p>The problem with the second interpretation is that there are no rules to support it.</p><p></p><p>The quote:</p><p></p><p>"Assuming he is still capable of doing so, he continues his actions once you complete your readied action."</p><p></p><p>does not do this. This means that IF he is capable (not if he does not decide to change his mind) he FINISHES his action(s). This is a metagaming rule describing that things like dice rolls continue, not a "what can the character decide to do" rule. If the character was planning on casting and then moving, he can decide to move (or not move or do a move equivalent) wherever he wants because the move action is a separate action which was not yet declared. The standard action spell, on the other hand, was the action that triggered the readied action and hence cannot be changed. It happened as stated (it just was not successful).</p><p></p><p>Example: Wizard casts a Melf's Acid Arrow. Fighter gets an AoO and hits. If the Wizard makes his Concentration roll, he then still rolls his ranged touch to hit for the MAA. He then still rolls his damage if he hits. This is all metagaming (i.e. rules about how the mechanics of the game is played). But, he does not get to change target from the Cleric to the Fighter. He does not get to decide to not cast the spell at all, just because the Fighter hit him in the interim. He has already cast the spell, the mechanics of that have not yet occurred. If the Wizard fails his Concentration roll, he does not get to roll to hit, but he also does not get to change his target and does not get to decide to not cast the spell. The spell is cast and the spell is lost in this case.</p><p></p><p>The success of his action is irrelevant to him performing the action.</p><p></p><p>And yes, since the rule you quoted here does not support your position, I'm still waiting for one that does.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>All standard actions are instantaneous with respect to you declaring what you are doing and it just happens. Whether it is successful or not is dependent on circumstances.</p><p></p><p>If in the "middle" of your spell, you are AoOed and fail your concentration check and lose the spell.</p><p></p><p>Do you get to do some OTHER action? No, of course not.</p><p></p><p>Your action failed, but you still DID your action. You still lost the spell because you still (unsuccessfully) cast the spell.</p><p></p><p>Starting an action is no different then completing it.</p><p></p><p></p><p>Completing an action in metagaming terms (i.e. rolling the dice to hit or for damage for something else) is different than completing an action in game terms (i.e. I do this). You do the action the instant you declare what it is, you just are not necessarily successful with it. You cannot change the action in mid-action. There are no rules that allow for that for standard actions. If you find one, let us know.</p></blockquote><p></p>
[QUOTE="KarinsDad, post: 1284231, member: 2011"] You are assuming that "comes into effect" means that the spell is successful. Granted, that is not normally a bad assumption, but it is when there is a question on the rules. The quoted rule: "Most spells have a casting time of 1 standard action. A spell cast in this manner immediately takes effect." states that the effect is immediate. No ANDS, IFS, BUTS, or MAYBES. A different rule (like AoO or Readying) can change whether the effect occurs, but that does not mean that the effect is not immediate. It is just an immediate effect that did not occur. There are two basic ways to interpret the two rules I quoted: 1) My way. Standard actions are like atoms. They are basically indivisible. If you start one, you minimally attempt to finish it. You may be prevented from finishing it, but you at least always attempt to start what you finish. 2) Your way. Standard action have a start and an execution. If you get interrupted (whether that interruption is successful or not), then you do not need to execute the action that you started. The problem with the second interpretation is that there are no rules to support it. The quote: "Assuming he is still capable of doing so, he continues his actions once you complete your readied action." does not do this. This means that IF he is capable (not if he does not decide to change his mind) he FINISHES his action(s). This is a metagaming rule describing that things like dice rolls continue, not a "what can the character decide to do" rule. If the character was planning on casting and then moving, he can decide to move (or not move or do a move equivalent) wherever he wants because the move action is a separate action which was not yet declared. The standard action spell, on the other hand, was the action that triggered the readied action and hence cannot be changed. It happened as stated (it just was not successful). Example: Wizard casts a Melf's Acid Arrow. Fighter gets an AoO and hits. If the Wizard makes his Concentration roll, he then still rolls his ranged touch to hit for the MAA. He then still rolls his damage if he hits. This is all metagaming (i.e. rules about how the mechanics of the game is played). But, he does not get to change target from the Cleric to the Fighter. He does not get to decide to not cast the spell at all, just because the Fighter hit him in the interim. He has already cast the spell, the mechanics of that have not yet occurred. If the Wizard fails his Concentration roll, he does not get to roll to hit, but he also does not get to change his target and does not get to decide to not cast the spell. The spell is cast and the spell is lost in this case. The success of his action is irrelevant to him performing the action. And yes, since the rule you quoted here does not support your position, I'm still waiting for one that does. All standard actions are instantaneous with respect to you declaring what you are doing and it just happens. Whether it is successful or not is dependent on circumstances. If in the "middle" of your spell, you are AoOed and fail your concentration check and lose the spell. Do you get to do some OTHER action? No, of course not. Your action failed, but you still DID your action. You still lost the spell because you still (unsuccessfully) cast the spell. Starting an action is no different then completing it. Completing an action in metagaming terms (i.e. rolling the dice to hit or for damage for something else) is different than completing an action in game terms (i.e. I do this). You do the action the instant you declare what it is, you just are not necessarily successful with it. You cannot change the action in mid-action. There are no rules that allow for that for standard actions. If you find one, let us know. [/QUOTE]
Insert quotes…
Verification
Post reply
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
Nasty trick - will it work?
Top