Menu
News
All News
Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
Pathfinder
Starfinder
Warhammer
2d20 System
Year Zero Engine
Industry News
Reviews
Dragon Reflections
White Dwarf Reflections
Columns
Weekly Digests
Weekly News Digest
Freebies, Sales & Bundles
RPG Print News
RPG Crowdfunding News
Game Content
ENterplanetary DimENsions
Mythological Figures
Opinion
Worlds of Design
Peregrine's Nest
RPG Evolution
Other Columns
From the Freelancing Frontline
Monster ENcyclopedia
WotC/TSR Alumni Look Back
4 Hours w/RSD (Ryan Dancey)
The Road to 3E (Jonathan Tweet)
Greenwood's Realms (Ed Greenwood)
Drawmij's TSR (Jim Ward)
Community
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Resources
Wiki
Pages
Latest activity
Media
New media
New comments
Search media
Downloads
Latest reviews
Search resources
EN Publishing
Store
EN5ider
Adventures in ZEITGEIST
Awfully Cheerful Engine
What's OLD is NEW
Judge Dredd & The Worlds Of 2000AD
War of the Burning Sky
Level Up: Advanced 5E
Events & Releases
Upcoming Events
Private Events
Featured Events
Socials!
EN Publishing
Twitter
BlueSky
Facebook
Instagram
EN World
BlueSky
YouTube
Facebook
Twitter
Twitch
Podcast
Features
Top 5 RPGs Compiled Charts 2004-Present
Adventure Game Industry Market Research Summary (RPGs) V1.0
Ryan Dancey: Acquiring TSR
Q&A With Gary Gygax
D&D Rules FAQs
TSR, WotC, & Paizo: A Comparative History
D&D Pronunciation Guide
Million Dollar TTRPG Kickstarters
Tabletop RPG Podcast Hall of Fame
Eric Noah's Unofficial D&D 3rd Edition News
D&D in the Mainstream
D&D & RPG History
About Morrus
Log in
Register
What's new
Search
Search
Search titles only
By:
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Menu
Log in
Register
Install the app
Install
Upgrade your account to a Community Supporter account and remove most of the site ads.
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Dungeons & Dragons
Natural Attacks- Bite and Headbutt in the same round?
JavaScript is disabled. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser before proceeding.
You are using an out of date browser. It may not display this or other websites correctly.
You should upgrade or use an
alternative browser
.
Reply to thread
Message
<blockquote data-quote="Jackinthegreen" data-source="post: 6060919" data-attributes="member: 6678119"><p><a href="http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=dnd/rg/20070403a" target="_blank">http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=dnd/rg/20070403a</a> and <a href="http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=dnd/rg/20070410a" target="_blank">http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=dnd/rg/20070410a</a> specifically reference a monk being able to make his normal unarmed routine (which is treated as a manufactured weapon) and then do all the natural attacks as secondary natural weapons (so the attack is at -5 and they only add 1/2 Str to damage). If you can weed out the bad stuff (mostly the poster Aelryinth) from <a href="http://community.wizards.com/go/thread/view/75882/26167777/Help_with_Frost_Rager_Barbarian_Fist_of_the_Forest?post_id=474713553#474713553" target="_blank">http://community.wizards.com/go/thread/view/75882/26167777/Help_with_Frost_Rager_Barbarian_Fist_of_the_Forest?post_id=474713553#474713553</a> you'll notice that they exhaustively cite rules for making standard iterative attacks and then doing naturals at -5. <a href="http://www.d20srd.org/srd/specialAbilities.htm#manufacturedWeapons" target="_blank">http://www.d20srd.org/srd/specialAbilities.htm#manufacturedWeapons</a> is the primary source for that and is listed and quoted in that thread.</p><p></p><p>If it's just about the part where attacking with a manufactured weapon and a clawed appendage wielding that weapon then... I actually can't find anything anywhere explicitly saying the claw attack can't be used in general. The <a href="http://www.d20srd.org/srd/monsters/lycanthrope.htm" target="_blank">Lycanthrope</a> template does say in it that "A hybrid may attack with a weapon and a bite, or may attack with its <a href="http://www.d20srd.org/srd/specialAbilities.htm#naturalWeapons" target="_blank">natural weapons</a>." but that only refers to the hybrid lycanthrope form and not every creature ever. <a href="http://www.giantitp.com/forums/showthread.php?t=207742" target="_blank">http://www.giantitp.com/forums/showthread.php?t=207742</a>, <a href="http://www.minmaxboards.com/index.php?topic=482.0" target="_blank">http://www.minmaxboards.com/index.php?topic=482.0</a>, and other places do refer to not being able to use the clawed limb for a claw attack while wielding a weapon in the claw but I can't find the exact rules quote.</p><p></p><p>Well, I can find stuff saying you can't make a secondary claw attack after you've used the limb for a primary attack. <a href="http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=dnd/rg/20070403a" target="_blank">http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=dnd/rg/20070403a</a> has it with the paragraph "A creature can choose to treat its unarmed attacks as its primary attacks and its natural weapons as secondary attacks. (This method is normally used to add weapon attacks to a natural attack routine.) The creature must make all unarmed attacks with its primary limb, which prevents that hand from being used for a natural attack such as a claw or slam."</p><p></p><p>There's also a bit from the FAQ saying that a Lizardfolk can't make a claw attack along with, say, an attack with a longsword in the clawed hand.</p><p><strong>What happens when creatures use their natural</strong></p><p><strong>weapons as secondary attacks along with a manufactured</strong></p><p><strong>weapon? For example, lizardfolk have two claws that also</strong></p><p><strong>serve as hands. What happens when they wield a onehanded</strong></p><p><strong>weapon in one hand and nothing in the other? Do</strong></p><p><strong>they lose both claw attacks in exchange for their attacks</strong></p><p><strong>with the weapon?</strong></p><p></p><p>Wielding a manufactured weapon doesn’t prevent a</p><p>creature from using all its natural weaponry, provided that the</p><p>creature is using the full attack action and the additional natural</p><p>weapons are free.</p><p>The example lizardfolk can’t make a claw attack with the</p><p>“hand” that holds its weapon, although it does get to attack</p><p>with the weapon itself. But, if it’s using the full attack action, it</p><p>can use its other claw as a natural secondary attack (–5 to</p><p>attack rolls, half Strength bonus), and can also bite as a natural</p><p>secondary attack. In effect, the lizardfolk is using its normal</p><p>full attack routine with the manufactured weapon attack</p><p>substituted for one claw attack.</p></blockquote><p></p>
[QUOTE="Jackinthegreen, post: 6060919, member: 6678119"] [URL]http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=dnd/rg/20070403a[/URL] and [URL]http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=dnd/rg/20070410a[/URL] specifically reference a monk being able to make his normal unarmed routine (which is treated as a manufactured weapon) and then do all the natural attacks as secondary natural weapons (so the attack is at -5 and they only add 1/2 Str to damage). If you can weed out the bad stuff (mostly the poster Aelryinth) from [URL]http://community.wizards.com/go/thread/view/75882/26167777/Help_with_Frost_Rager_Barbarian_Fist_of_the_Forest?post_id=474713553#474713553[/URL] you'll notice that they exhaustively cite rules for making standard iterative attacks and then doing naturals at -5. [URL]http://www.d20srd.org/srd/specialAbilities.htm#manufacturedWeapons[/URL] is the primary source for that and is listed and quoted in that thread. If it's just about the part where attacking with a manufactured weapon and a clawed appendage wielding that weapon then... I actually can't find anything anywhere explicitly saying the claw attack can't be used in general. The [URL="http://www.d20srd.org/srd/monsters/lycanthrope.htm"]Lycanthrope[/URL] template does say in it that "A hybrid may attack with a weapon and a bite, or may attack with its [URL="http://www.d20srd.org/srd/specialAbilities.htm#naturalWeapons"]natural weapons[/URL]." but that only refers to the hybrid lycanthrope form and not every creature ever. [URL]http://www.giantitp.com/forums/showthread.php?t=207742[/URL], [URL]http://www.minmaxboards.com/index.php?topic=482.0[/URL], and other places do refer to not being able to use the clawed limb for a claw attack while wielding a weapon in the claw but I can't find the exact rules quote. Well, I can find stuff saying you can't make a secondary claw attack after you've used the limb for a primary attack. [url]http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=dnd/rg/20070403a[/url] has it with the paragraph "A creature can choose to treat its unarmed attacks as its primary attacks and its natural weapons as secondary attacks. (This method is normally used to add weapon attacks to a natural attack routine.) The creature must make all unarmed attacks with its primary limb, which prevents that hand from being used for a natural attack such as a claw or slam." There's also a bit from the FAQ saying that a Lizardfolk can't make a claw attack along with, say, an attack with a longsword in the clawed hand. [B]What happens when creatures use their natural weapons as secondary attacks along with a manufactured weapon? For example, lizardfolk have two claws that also serve as hands. What happens when they wield a onehanded weapon in one hand and nothing in the other? Do they lose both claw attacks in exchange for their attacks with the weapon?[/B] Wielding a manufactured weapon doesn’t prevent a creature from using all its natural weaponry, provided that the creature is using the full attack action and the additional natural weapons are free. The example lizardfolk can’t make a claw attack with the “hand” that holds its weapon, although it does get to attack with the weapon itself. But, if it’s using the full attack action, it can use its other claw as a natural secondary attack (–5 to attack rolls, half Strength bonus), and can also bite as a natural secondary attack. In effect, the lizardfolk is using its normal full attack routine with the manufactured weapon attack substituted for one claw attack. [/QUOTE]
Insert quotes…
Verification
Post reply
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Dungeons & Dragons
Natural Attacks- Bite and Headbutt in the same round?
Top