Natural Attacks... I need to know how this will work...

RigaMortus2

First Post
There are a few soulmelds from Magic of Incarnum that grant natural attacks, and I need to know how they work with one another.

Threefold Mask of the Chimera (Bound to Totem): Gain a bite attack 1d8, bite attack 1d6 and gore attack 1d6. Make 1 attack with any of these for Standard Action. As a full attack action, you can attack with all three heads applying full Str modifier on all three attack rolls. Alternatively, as part of a full attack, you can make a secondary attack with one head at -5 penalty, applying one-half Str modifier on damage roll.

Worg Pelt (Bound to Hands): When you hit with a bite attack, gain a free Trip attempt w/o having to make an additional touch attack or provoking an AoO. If you fail, the opponent doesn’t get to react.

Sphinx Claws (Bound to Hands): When using charge action, you may make a full attack using any natural weapons that you have.

Girallon Arms (Bound to Totem): Gain 4 claws that you can use as natural weapons, dealing 1d4 damage with each claw. You can make a single claw attack as a primary attack, using your full attack bonus and adding Str bonus to damage roll. You can make up to three secondary attacks, following either a primary claw attack or an attack with a weapon. These secondary attacks have a -5 penalty on the attack rolls and apply half Str bonus. Every point of essentia gives you a +1 enhan bonus on attack and damage rolls with claw attacks.

Result: You get to charge thanks to Sphinx Claws, and follow-up with 7 attacks, 2 of them being bites from Chimera Mask, 1 Gore (also from Chimera Mask), and 4 claws from Girallon Arms. Also, you get 2 free Trip Attempts from your bites thanks to Worg Pelt.

Would these all be considered "primary attacks" or what? Do you make attacks rolls for all of these at your highest BAB?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

not completely sure, but it looks like you have 2 sets of overlapping soulmelds 2 for totem and 2 for hands, so your question is answered as such: they don't work, because you can normally only have 1 per chakra.
 

As Kmart pointed out: really, really no.

First, you're doubled up on melds, which doesn't jive.

Second, even if that wern't the case, it's not as super-awesome as what you propose at the end there. Breaks down like so:

Claws: "When using charge action, you may make a full attack using any natural weapons that you have."

Arms: "You can make a single claw attack as a primary attack, using your full attack bonus and adding Str bonus to damage roll. You can make up to three secondary attacks (with the other claws), following either a primary claw attack or an attack with a weapon."

Mask: "As a full attack action, you can attack with all three heads applying full Str modifier on all three attack rolls. Alternatively, as part of a full attack, you can make a secondary attack with one head at -5 penalty, applying one-half Str modifier on damage roll."

So you'd be left making either -
A) 1 primary claw, three secondary claws, and one secondary bite or gore.
B) 2 bites and a gore, all as primary attacks. Secondary claws don't trigger at all.
 

Kmart Kommando said:
not completely sure, but it looks like you have 2 sets of overlapping soulmelds 2 for totem and 2 for hands, so your question is answered as such: they don't work, because you can normally only have 1 per chakra.

Sorry I didn't spell it out before hand. I have the feats Double Chakra Bind (Totem) and Double Chakra Bind (Hands) which allows 2 soulmelds to be shaped AND bound to the respective chakras. So that takes care of that. Sorry, I was in a rush when I posted and didn't think to mention that.
 

Sejs said:
As Kmart pointed out: really, really no.

First, you're doubled up on melds, which doesn't jive.

Second, even if that wern't the case, it's not as super-awesome as what you propose at the end there. Breaks down like so:

Claws: "When using charge action, you may make a full attack using any natural weapons that you have."

Arms: "You can make a single claw attack as a primary attack, using your full attack bonus and adding Str bonus to damage roll. You can make up to three secondary attacks (with the other claws), following either a primary claw attack or an attack with a weapon."

Mask: "As a full attack action, you can attack with all three heads applying full Str modifier on all three attack rolls. Alternatively, as part of a full attack, you can make a secondary attack with one head at -5 penalty, applying one-half Str modifier on damage roll."

So you'd be left making either -
A) 1 primary claw, three secondary claws, and one secondary bite or gore.
B) 2 bites and a gore, all as primary attacks. Secondary claws don't trigger at all.

But it says you get to make an attack with any natural weapons you have. So why would I be limited in these two examples? They are clearly natural weapons I have...
 

You'd be able to make one primary claw attack, three secondary claw attacks, and one secondary bite attack, which would gain the benefits of the trip attack. The reasoning is as follows.

The girallon arms specify that one claw is primary, and the others are all secondary attacks, when you do a full attack.

The chimera mask states that you can use one bite as a secondary attack as part of a full attack action (that is, if you're using other attacks, rather than biting with all three heads.) You can't bite with all three heads and do any other kind of attacking - the text of the ability specifically prevents it. That's why it says "As a full attack action, you can...", and then specifies what happens when you use other attacks.

Alternatively, you could charge and use the mask to its full effect, doing a bite/bite/gore routine. That would probably be best if you're worried about missing, or have an absurdly high Strength score. All attacks would be considered primary, and thus wouldn't have an attack penalty, and would use your full Strength bonus to damage.
 

RigaMortus2 said:
But it says you get to make an attack with any natural weapons you have. So why would I be limited in these two examples? They are clearly natural weapons I have...

And normally when making a full attack that wouldn't be an issue. However because of how two of the binds interact you're missing out.

The arms say one claw is primary, everything else is secondary. The mask says if you're not making a primary attack with the heads, you can make a single head attack as a secondary.

Essentially you can't have three primary head attacks, one primary claw attack and three secondary claw attacks, because only one thing can be primary at a given time. '3 heads at +X being' being counted as a single primary natural weapon due to the specific rules for the Mask.
 

Remove ads

Top