D&D 4E New to 4E - question on the goblin wolfrider

NewJeffCT

First Post
This is probably pretty simple, but we're kicking off a new 4E campaign, after finishing up a long-running 3.5 campaign earlier this year.

Are the stats from DDI for both the wolfrider & the goblin, or is it just the goblin (with the exception of the wolf attack to knock somebody prone) and not the wolf? It's not clear from the stat block, though I may have missed it...

I would normally think it did not include the wolf, but it's hard to tell due to the wolf's attack being in the stat block, too.

Thanks
 

log in or register to remove this ad

It looks to me like "Wolf's Bite" is just the name of a cool attack the goblin has that is extra good vs. prone targets, just like a wolf is. It's thematic.

The goblin wolf rider is a "small natural humanoid" so it definitely is just the goblin.
 

^. Also check out the errata for NPC mounted combat.

MOUNTS IN COMBAT
A mount and rider follow these rules while the rider is mounted.
✦ Mount (Move Action): The rider mounts a creature adjacent to it and enters its space.
✦ Dismount (Move Action): The rider dismounts, moving from the mount’s space to a square adjacent to it.
✦ Initiative: The mount and rider act on the rider’s initiative count, even if the mount had a different initiative before the rider mounted it. The two continue to act on the same initiative count after the rider dismounts. A monster and its mount have separate turns, whereas an adventurer and his or her mount have a single turn.
✦ Actions (Adventurers Only): An adventurer and his or her mount have one combined set of actions: a standard action, a move action, and a minor action. The player chooses how the two creatures use the actions on the adventurer’s turn. Most commonly, the mount takes a move action to walk or fly, and the adventurer takes a standard action to attack. The adventurer and the mount also share a single immediate action each round and a single opportunity action each turn. If the adventurer dismounts, the two still share one set of actions on that turn, but have separate sets of actions thereafter.


So make sure you give the XP for killing his mount to, since his mount also gets a complete turn.
 


Remove ads

Top