OGC question

Wikidogre

First Post
just to make sure i am correct with this, is the flight maneuverability chart in the DMG ogc, could i use the chart in a product, or am i meerly able to referense it?
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad


thnx fidgit, i do have this, i just get confused, and want to know it is in the SRD, so can it be used in a document, or do i have to referance the book it is in...
 

"You may consider this material Open Game Content under the Open Game License, and may use, modify, and distribute it." -quoth the Wizards site

Wikidogre said:
do i have to referance the book it is in...

now that i don't know. somebody around here must know:D
 


Wikidogre said:
thnx fidgit, i do have this, i just get confused, and want to know it is in the SRD, so can it be used in a document, or do i have to referance the book it is in...

Throw away the books. Or at least hide them.

When you are writing under the open gaming license, nothing exists but what is in the SRD and what has been released as OGC by other companies.
 

Lizard said:
nothing exists but what is in the SRD

sounds good to me. but what if the document in question has a print release? do indie d20 publishers still have to put the "this product must be used with the Player's Handbook.." stuff on the back cover?
 


Mr Fidgit said:

sounds good to me. but what if the document in question has a print release? do indie d20 publishers still have to put the "this product must be used with the Player's Handbook.." stuff on the back cover?
Only if you're using the d20 System Trademark License in conjunction with the Open Gaming License.

If you are using the OGL alone, then you cannot make such requirement claim, nor can you advertise that your Covered Product is compatible with D&D or any Wizards' core rulebooks.

As for referencing the core rulebok ... if you are using the d20STL, then you may do so as long you follow the guideline in the Trademark Usage Guide (you can download it from the same place as the Trademark License and OGL are posted).

But as anyone have strongly suggested, write your material using the SRD first, then reference it later when you edit your material.
 

Mr Fidgit said:


sounds good to me. but what if the document in question has a print release? do indie d20 publishers still have to put the "this product must be used with the Player's Handbook.." stuff on the back cover?

If you are using the D20 logo, you must obey the terms of the D20 STL, which requires some form of "This product requires a core rulebook from Wizards of the Coast" to appear on your product. This applies, BTW, whether the product is print or not.
 

Remove ads

Top