Paralyzed and used an Invocation..

RigaMortus2

First Post
Quick question, I want to know if this was played right...

I am playing a lvl 5 Warlock, and I took the Sudden Still Spell feat at level 3 (no offense, but if you do not know that Sudden spells work w/ invocations, please do not respond)...

Anyway, I got paralyzed by a carrion crawler. On my turn I Sudden Still Spelled my Eldritch Blast and killed the carrion crawler. The DM rules this was alright, but I wanted to see what ya'll think about it...
 

log in or register to remove this ad

RigaMortus2 said:
Anyway, I got paralyzed by a carrion crawler. On my turn I Sudden Still Spelled my Eldritch Blast and killed the carrion crawler. The DM rules this was alright, but I wanted to see what ya'll think about it...

I'm away from my CArc, but assuming there's no V component, that sounds fine.

I've known people to suggest that since your Dex is effectively 0 while helpless, you should have a -5 Dex modifier on your ranged attack roll...

-Hyp.
 

(Sp) generally have no components.

Invocations have only somatic components.

So, yes, that should work, basically...

However, since the eldritch blast requires a ranged attack roll, it's probably safe to assume, that it is not a purely mental action, therefore I at least wouldn't allow it in this state.

A paralyzed character has effective Dexterity and Strength scores of 0 and is helpless, but can take purely mental actions.

If your DM says it works, then you at the very least suffer from having an effective Dex of 0, making the touch attack pretty difficult.

Bye
Thanee
 

Ahhh, I forgot to apply the penalty from Dex... I think I still would have hit with a total roll of a 13 (I hope). Good to know for next time though...
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top