Persistent Image questions

StreamOfTheSky

Adventurer
So, my PC recently attained level 9, and since he can spontaneously cast Illusion domain spells, that meant getting access to this under-defined spell. Note before giving replies of "ask your DM" that I AM the DM...we do rotating duty, but I am ultimately in charge of things. I just have no clue how I should rule that the spell works in several ways, and wanted a second opinion.

Range: I'm pretty sure I've got this down, but a player argued otherwise. Basically, I was under the impression that I had to make the image originate within the spell's range, but after that, as part of my programming, it was free to wander off beyond said range. My friend thought the text on spell range nixed that, but I looked at it later and saw nothing to really indicate otherwise. I asked why a buff spell with a range can be cast on an ally, the ally can then move far away from the caster and retain the buff spell, and yet the illusion had to stay in bounds afterwards. He admitted that was a good point and agrees with me now, but figured I'd ask. I understand that the low level image spells have to stay in range because you're actively concentrating on them and controlling them, though I'd rule if you went out of range that the illusion would continue doing what it was last doing under your control until the x rounds (3 for major image, for example) ran out.

Ability to react to the environment: If I program a persistent image to walk down a busy street, can I program it to avoid colliding with creatures or objects that get in the way, as if it could not walk through them? Aforementioned friend thinks not only is that level of "awareness" ok, but you can even program it to "react to being attacked." I'm not sure.

Programming: The spell takes a standard action to cast, but lasts for minutes. It boggles my mind that you can deliver the programming instructions in such short an amount of time. Shoudl the character have to brainstorm the commands prior to casting? Like..the mental/telepathic equivalent of writing a grocery list to give to someone else? Or is it ok to give it all the instructions without prior thought on the matter, all nearl instantaneously?

Thank you for your help.
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad

EDIT: Persistent IMAGE, not spell. How do you change thread titles?

You need to switch to the advanced editor for that. :)

Range: I'm pretty sure I've got this down, but a player argued otherwise. Basically, I was under the impression that I had to make the image originate within the spell's range, but after that, as part of my programming, it was free to wander off beyond said range. My friend thought the text on spell range nixed that, but I looked at it later and saw nothing to really indicate otherwise.

I vote: Other :lol:

(from Silent Image)
Effect: Visual figment that cannot extend beyond four 10-ft. cubes + one 10-ft. cube/level (S)

You can move the image within the limits of the size of the effect.

The range is only used to determine the point of origin. Once determined, the illusion's area of effect is stationary, and the illusion can only affect that area.

Ability to react to the environment: If I program a persistent image to walk down a busy street, can I program it to avoid colliding with creatures or objects that get in the way, as if it could not walk through them? Aforementioned friend thinks not only is that level of "awareness" ok, but you can even program it to "react to being attacked." I'm not sure.

You cannot have a persistent image react to anything. You determine what it shows and it shows that, regardless what. A "dumb script".

Of course, it cannot walk down a busy street, unless the whole area it walks is covered by the effect as determined when the spell was cast (see above).

Programming: The spell takes a standard action to cast, but lasts for minutes. It boggles my mind that you can deliver the programming instructions in such short an amount of time.

*shrug*

Well, you basically form that idea in your mind, you do not have to write it down or even say it or anything. The spell just works like you envision it. :)

Bye
Thanee
 

And to answer that point as well...

I asked why a buff spell with a range can be cast on an ally, the ally can then move far away from the caster and retain the buff spell, and yet the illusion had to stay in bounds afterwards.

Because the buff spell does not move away from its target at all. It stays right there.

In case of the illusion, the caster can move away from it, too. So that's pretty much the same here. It's just that the "target" of the illusion is an area, which cannot move, unlike the target of the buff spell, which is a creature.

Bye
Thanee
 

I was under the impression that any illusion could be moved around as you liked...the lower levels limited by the range definitely since you're concentrating. But I thought range was more to determine the restriction on point of origin for spells where you don't need to concentrate on them.
Spell Descriptions :: d20srd.org
While in mentions the limits of the effect's reach, I thought that was referring to at the time of casting, and was more dealing with instantaneous effects based on this line: "If any portion of the spell’s area would extend beyond this range, that area is wasted."

I should add, my friend was also under the impression that Summoning spells required the creature to remain within the spell's range after casting, but the spell text made no mention one way or the other, and just looking at the text for range, it seems reasonable that those would not have to, either.
Spell Descriptions :: d20srd.org

EDIT: ...how do I switch to the advanced editor?
 

From the spell descriptions under Effect:

You must designate the location where these things are to appear, either by seeing it or defining it. Range determines how far away an effect can appear, but if the effect is mobile it can move regardless of the spell’s range.

The illusion does not say, that it (it being the effect, i.e. the area the illusion covers, here) can move, therefore it can't.
In fact, it specifically says, that you can (only) move it within the confines of the effect.

You can move the image within the limits of the size of the effect.


A summoned creature has a movement mode, so it can move.


EDIT: There's the handy "Go Advanced" button between "Save" and "Cancel" for that.

Bye
Thanee
 

Remove ads

Top