Power Lunge and Creatures with Reach

Jeremy said:
Or heavy lances (which are reach weapons). This has great synergy because you have to charge to use power lunge. Charging with a lance gives you a minimum of x2 damage. And being a one handed reach weapon, you can still have a shield while using it and getting not 1.5x str mod, but 2x str mod.

Charging with a lance gives double (or more) damage only when "used from the back of a charging mount", so the giant would have to be mounted to benefit from this.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

kreynolds said:


I thought you couldn't perform an action as an AoO if the action would provoke an AoO itself. Are my wires crossed on this?

Yes, I believe so.. I don't remember where the rule is, but the example sticks in my head because it was so extreme. :) The example goes something like a disarm attempt provoked an AofO but the AofO chosen was a sunder, provoking an AofO from the original attacker, who chose to bull rush the defender who could not AofO him for this because he did not have combat reflexes.

So it went, bull rush, sunder, disarm. :)
 
Last edited:

shilsen said:


Charging with a lance gives double (or more) damage only when "used from the back of a charging mount", so the giant would have to be mounted to benefit from this.

I'm sorry, I meant that heavy lances and power lunge worked very well for medium-size creatures.

I also meant from horseback, as I, even though I am wont to do so, feel that charging with a lance and shield on foot is rather silly. :)
 

Jeremy said:
I also meant from horseback, as I, even though I am wont to do so, feel that charging with a lance and shield on foot is rather silly. :)

And you call yourself the ultimate munchkin?! Bah, humbug!
 


But! But! But I said I wanted to do so! :(

Umm..... I figured out how a 12th level character can have 24 attacks in one round today... Does that redeem me?
 

kreynolds said:


I thought you couldn't perform an action as an AoO if the action would provoke an AoO itself. Are my wires crossed on this?

Huh... I didn't know that.

You might be right, but the dramatic effect of the situations with aoo's provoking counter-aoo's are so COOL!

I was in one of those situations once- the fighter was dominated, he attacked to disarm, I tried to trip him with my aoo, he tried to trip me with his- fail, fail, fail! But visualizing it was sooo fun!
 

kreynolds said:


I thought you couldn't perform an action as an AoO if the action would provoke an AoO itself. Are my wires crossed on this?

This is a common houserule but its not official.

You can create AOO seesaws, disarm to disarm a disarm etc, which is legal by the book.

The problem with it occurs in a situation like this. I attempt a disarm, provoking an AOO from you. You make a disarm, but let's say you have improved disarm to make things simple. You succed, so I'm disarmed. So back to my original disarm, do I

1) make my disarm attempt unarmed?
2) Just fall back to a normal attack?
3) Can I change up the action, make it a trip attack instead since I've already provoked the AOO from you, I coulnd't provoke another one.

the ph never gets into the details of this, so many choose to prevent it with the rule above.
 

I'd allow a changed option as combat is spontaneous.

And note, that tripping does not normally provoke attacks of opportunity. Though attacking unarmed (and/or tripping unarmed) might depending on your feats and class abilities.
 

Remove ads

Top