Prestidigitation?

Galethorn

First Post
Well, I'm starting a new campaign as the DM (third one in the last year and a half; the first ended when we found a better DM, and the second is in a different setting and system, and still going successfully). Anyway, a few of the PCs can cast spells, and it looks like most of them have Prestidigitation. The problem is that I have no idea how the spell works when in a combat round...the description in the books is...lacking. Anyway, this is basically what I'm wondering...

Is soiling/cleaning/drying/dampening something a free action? What about flavoring/cooling/warming? What about lifting things?

I'd sure like to know before I start the first session...
 
Last edited by a moderator:

log in or register to remove this ad


Well, since noone's moved it, I'll reply anyway.
First, I think unless someone has tried to use the spell in combat or has said they plan to, it's quite unlikely that they will. But if, for some reason, they just have to clean off their shoes before the orc attacks them, then I'd call it free if they do it as part of casting the spell, or a move equivalent if they do it later - probably. If it is completely inconsequential, I'd just not worry about it. And Prestidigitation can lift things? If it does, Mage Hand has no purpose...
 

Prestidigitation is one of the greatest roleplaying spells in the game- but it's worthless for anything else. It has little or no combat use, and really can't do anything that's game-breaking. You can use it to give your weapon a blue glow, or to lift up the dust around your character to make him look more intimidating, but you can't use it to cause damage, or really do anything to make any large difference. Depending on the situation, it could be used to give yourself a circumstance bonus to a skill check (such as making your eyes glow red to help your intimidate, or making food taste better for your craft: pudding skill). It has several uses that were mentioned in Tome & Blood that can replace mundane things (to an extent- such as, you can use it to light a torch, to take 10 on a use rope check, or so on). Unless otherwise noted, all of its uses take a Standard Action (the casting of the spell). So it would take a standard action to flavor something, to light a torch, to clean your shoes, or so on.

And Mage Hand still has quite a use- Prestidigitation can only lift 1 pound of material, whereas the Mage Hand spell can lift up to 5 pounds. So you can move the fighter's disarmed sword back into his hands with Mage Hand, but you can't move more than small rocks or forks or things with Prestidigitation. Also, Mage Hand has a duration of Concentration, whereas Prestidigitation does not- so one could very easily rule that you can't do any sort of sustained lifting with Prestidigitation, whereas with Mage Hand you can hold it for as long as you want.
 
Last edited:

UltimaGabe said:
And Mage Hand still has quite a use- Prestidigitation can only lift 1 pound of material, whereas the Mage Hand spell can lift up to 5 pounds.
but you can't move more than small rocks or forks or things with Prestidigitation. .

so you could use it to 'throw' sand up into the Orcs eyes distracting him for a round

and if it can be used to light a torch can I also use it to set the enemys hair on fire?

(even though it seems minor I think Presdigitation does have combat utility thus making it too powerful as a cantrip imho)
 
Last edited:

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top