Protection from Evil Versus Charm

bradikus

First Post
Given the following definition for the Protection From Evil Spell;

"blocks any attempt to . . . exercise mental control over the creature (including enchantment (charm) effects and enchantment (compulsion) effects that grant the caster ongoing control over the subject, such as dominate person)."

Does blocked mean the charmed is free to act independently, or do they continue to act upon the last given directive?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Note the references to "ongoing control" and "excercise mental control". Charm person and similar spells simply cause the target to view the caster's requests in the most favorable light. The caster has no direct control over the target, simply increased influence.

I don't believe protection from evil would offer any protection from charm person/monster.
 

Krafen said:
Note the references to "ongoing control" and "excercise mental control". Charm person and similar spells simply cause the target to view the caster's requests in the most favorable light. The caster has no direct control over the target, simply increased influence.

I don't believe protection from evil would offer any protection from charm person/monster.

Yup, because a straight opposed charisma check to force a course of undesirable action upon the target should in no way be considered "control", nor should the ability to do so every round for the duration of the spell be considered "ongoing".
 


From the Official 3rd Edition FAQ:

The second function of the protection from evil spell
blocks any attempt to possess the warded creature or to
exercise mental control over the creature. What, exactly,
counts as mental control?

“Mental control” includes all spells of the school of
Enchantment that have the Charm subschool, such as animal
friendship, charm person, and charm monster.
It also includes
some Enchantment spells of the Compulsion subschool if those
spells grant the caster ongoing control over the subject; such
spells include dominate person and dominate monster.
Compulsions that merely dictate the subject’s action at the time
the spell takes effect are not blocked. Such spells include
command, hold person, geas/quest, hypnotism, insanity, Otto’s
irresistible dance, random action, suggestion, and zone of
truth.
 
Last edited:

Charm is mental control? That's interesting, but if they say so, then it is so, I guess. I wouldn't see it as that, but the FAQ certainly is clear enough. :)

Bye
Thanee
 

Remove ads

Top