Menu
News
All News
Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
Pathfinder
Starfinder
Warhammer
2d20 System
Year Zero Engine
Industry News
Reviews
Dragon Reflections
White Dwarf Reflections
Columns
Weekly Digests
Weekly News Digest
Freebies, Sales & Bundles
RPG Print News
RPG Crowdfunding News
Game Content
ENterplanetary DimENsions
Mythological Figures
Opinion
Worlds of Design
Peregrine's Nest
RPG Evolution
Other Columns
From the Freelancing Frontline
Monster ENcyclopedia
WotC/TSR Alumni Look Back
4 Hours w/RSD (Ryan Dancey)
The Road to 3E (Jonathan Tweet)
Greenwood's Realms (Ed Greenwood)
Drawmij's TSR (Jim Ward)
Community
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Resources
Wiki
Pages
Latest activity
Media
New media
New comments
Search media
Downloads
Latest reviews
Search resources
EN Publishing
Store
EN5ider
Adventures in ZEITGEIST
Awfully Cheerful Engine
What's OLD is NEW
Judge Dredd & The Worlds Of 2000AD
War of the Burning Sky
Level Up: Advanced 5E
Events & Releases
Upcoming Events
Private Events
Featured Events
Socials!
EN Publishing
Twitter
BlueSky
Facebook
Instagram
EN World
BlueSky
YouTube
Facebook
Twitter
Twitch
Podcast
Features
Top 5 RPGs Compiled Charts 2004-Present
Adventure Game Industry Market Research Summary (RPGs) V1.0
Ryan Dancey: Acquiring TSR
Q&A With Gary Gygax
D&D Rules FAQs
TSR, WotC, & Paizo: A Comparative History
D&D Pronunciation Guide
Million Dollar TTRPG Kickstarters
Tabletop RPG Podcast Hall of Fame
Eric Noah's Unofficial D&D 3rd Edition News
D&D in the Mainstream
D&D & RPG History
About Morrus
Log in
Register
What's new
Search
Search
Search titles only
By:
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Menu
Log in
Register
Install the app
Install
Upgrade your account to a Community Supporter account and remove most of the site ads.
Rocket your D&D 5E and Level Up: Advanced 5E games into space! Alpha Star Magazine Is Launching... Right Now!
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Dungeons & Dragons
Question about how griffon dive and bite attack
JavaScript is disabled. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser before proceeding.
You are using an out of date browser. It may not display this or other websites correctly.
You should upgrade or use an
alternative browser
.
Reply to thread
Message
<blockquote data-quote="Mookie1171" data-source="post: 6967638" data-attributes="member: 84186"><p>I tried searching for this and didn't see a clarification anywhere</p><p></p><p>I'm trying to figure out if griffons get bite on a dive attack.</p><p></p><p>Dive says "<span style="color: #000000"><span style="font-family: inherit">A creature that flies can make dive attacks. A dive attack works just like a </span></span><a href="http://www.d20srd.org/srd/combat/specialAttacks.htm#charge" target="_blank">charge</a><span style="color: #000000"><span style="font-family: inherit">, but the diving creature must move a minimum of 30 feet and descend at least 10 feet. It can make only claw or talon attacks, but these deal double damage. A creature can use the </span></span><a href="http://www.d20srd.org/srd/combat/actionsInCombat.htm#run" target="_blank">run</a><span style="color: #000000"><span style="font-family: inherit"> action while flying, provided it flies in a straight line."</span></span></p><p><span style="color: #000000"><span style="font-family: inherit"></span></span></p><p><span style="color: #000000"><span style="font-family: inherit"></span></span>Griffons have pounce, which says that if the griffon dives upon or charges a foe, it can make a full attack, including two rake attacks. A griffon's full attack is Bite, Claw Claw.</p><p></p><p>So a charge attack would look like this: Bite, Claw, Claw, Rake, Rake</p><p>Charge: Bite +13, 2d6+4 (+2 from charge factored into all attacks)</p><p> Claw1 +10, 1d4+2</p><p> Claw2 +10, 1d4 +2</p><p> Rake1 +10, 1d6+2</p><p> Rake2 +10, 1d6+2</p><p></p><p>Would a dive attack be the same as that, but with double damage for the claws? Or would it only have Claw 1, Claw 2, Rake 1, Rake 2, with no bite, since you can't usually bite on a dive.</p><p></p><p>Dive with Bite</p><p> Bite +13, 2d6+4</p><p> Claw1 +10, 2d4+4 (double claw damage)</p><p> Claw2 +10, 2d4+4 (double claw damage)</p><p> Rake1 +10, 1d6+2</p><p> Rake2 +10, 1d6+2</p><p></p><p>Dive without Bite </p><p> Claw1 +10, 2d4+4 (double claw damage)</p><p> Claw2 +10, 2d4+4 (double claw damage)</p><p> Rake1 +10, 1d6+2</p><p> Rake2 +10, 1d6+2</p><p></p><p>If griffons can't Bite on a Dive, it seems like a charge would be better even with the double claw damage on a dive, since charge gives you the 2d6+4 Bite attack, which is better than double damage on the two claws that only adds up to an extra 1d4 +2 per claw or 2d4 +4 total.</p><p></p><p>Thematically though, griffons seem more likely to prefer dives since they're flying, so I thought that may be a mistake and griffons actually get Bite on a Dive because their Pounce says "it can make a full attack" on a charge or dive.</p><p></p><p>Also I wanted to make sure I'm understanding the Rake right.</p><p></p><p>Say the griffon grapples.</p><p>It makes a touch attack of BAB + STR (not sure if Weapon Focus Bite should count for grapple touch attacks). </p><p>+7 BAB + 4 STR = +11 touch attack to grapple. It provokes an AoO.</p><p> Assume touch attack misses, so the griffon does a second iterative touch attack at +6, which happens to hit. </p><p>Then, the griffon does a grapple of 1d20 + 15 which succeeds.</p><p> The griffon does nonlethal damage of 1d4+4 with its grapple check. It can't use a natural weapon at this time on the first round.</p><p></p><p>Second round, the griffon moves into its opponent's square, provoking an AoO, and then </p><p>makes a Bite natural attack at -4, then rake twice</p><p> Bite + 7, 2d6+4 (-4 for attacking with natural weapon in grapple)</p><p> Rake +8, 1d6+2</p><p> Rake +8, 1d6+2</p><p>Then in that same round, because its BAB is higher than 5, it gets to do all that again at -5 to attack, right?</p><p> Bite +2, 2d6+4</p><p> Rake +3, 1d6+2</p><p> Rake +3, 1d6+2</p><p></p><p>Going back to that first grapple round, if the griffon succeeded on its first touch attack of +11 and didn't get hit by the AoO, then succeeded on its grapple check to deal nonlethal damage, would the griffon then be able to use its iterative BAB attack to attack with its natural weapons, Bite +2, Rake +3, Rake +3 at the iterative - 5 BAB in that first round?</p><p></p><p>Sorry for the wall of text. I posted the detailed example, because I'm not sure I'm understanding all of that correctly and want to see if others noticed any mistakes in my examples, so I could figure out how all that is supposed to work for sure. It's probably made more complicated because griffons don't have improved grab, but they do have rake and pounce.</p></blockquote><p></p>
[QUOTE="Mookie1171, post: 6967638, member: 84186"] I tried searching for this and didn't see a clarification anywhere I'm trying to figure out if griffons get bite on a dive attack. Dive says "[COLOR=#000000][FONT='inherit']A creature that flies can make dive attacks. A dive attack works just like a [/FONT][/COLOR][URL="http://www.d20srd.org/srd/combat/specialAttacks.htm#charge"]charge[/URL][COLOR=#000000][FONT='inherit'], but the diving creature must move a minimum of 30 feet and descend at least 10 feet. It can make only claw or talon attacks, but these deal double damage. A creature can use the [/FONT][/COLOR][URL="http://www.d20srd.org/srd/combat/actionsInCombat.htm#run"]run[/URL][COLOR=#000000][FONT='inherit'] action while flying, provided it flies in a straight line." [/FONT][/COLOR]Griffons have pounce, which says that if the griffon dives upon or charges a foe, it can make a full attack, including two rake attacks. A griffon's full attack is Bite, Claw Claw. So a charge attack would look like this: Bite, Claw, Claw, Rake, Rake Charge: Bite +13, 2d6+4 (+2 from charge factored into all attacks) Claw1 +10, 1d4+2 Claw2 +10, 1d4 +2 Rake1 +10, 1d6+2 Rake2 +10, 1d6+2 Would a dive attack be the same as that, but with double damage for the claws? Or would it only have Claw 1, Claw 2, Rake 1, Rake 2, with no bite, since you can't usually bite on a dive. Dive with Bite Bite +13, 2d6+4 Claw1 +10, 2d4+4 (double claw damage) Claw2 +10, 2d4+4 (double claw damage) Rake1 +10, 1d6+2 Rake2 +10, 1d6+2 Dive without Bite Claw1 +10, 2d4+4 (double claw damage) Claw2 +10, 2d4+4 (double claw damage) Rake1 +10, 1d6+2 Rake2 +10, 1d6+2 If griffons can't Bite on a Dive, it seems like a charge would be better even with the double claw damage on a dive, since charge gives you the 2d6+4 Bite attack, which is better than double damage on the two claws that only adds up to an extra 1d4 +2 per claw or 2d4 +4 total. Thematically though, griffons seem more likely to prefer dives since they're flying, so I thought that may be a mistake and griffons actually get Bite on a Dive because their Pounce says "it can make a full attack" on a charge or dive. Also I wanted to make sure I'm understanding the Rake right. Say the griffon grapples. It makes a touch attack of BAB + STR (not sure if Weapon Focus Bite should count for grapple touch attacks). +7 BAB + 4 STR = +11 touch attack to grapple. It provokes an AoO. Assume touch attack misses, so the griffon does a second iterative touch attack at +6, which happens to hit. Then, the griffon does a grapple of 1d20 + 15 which succeeds. The griffon does nonlethal damage of 1d4+4 with its grapple check. It can't use a natural weapon at this time on the first round. Second round, the griffon moves into its opponent's square, provoking an AoO, and then makes a Bite natural attack at -4, then rake twice Bite + 7, 2d6+4 (-4 for attacking with natural weapon in grapple) Rake +8, 1d6+2 Rake +8, 1d6+2 Then in that same round, because its BAB is higher than 5, it gets to do all that again at -5 to attack, right? Bite +2, 2d6+4 Rake +3, 1d6+2 Rake +3, 1d6+2 Going back to that first grapple round, if the griffon succeeded on its first touch attack of +11 and didn't get hit by the AoO, then succeeded on its grapple check to deal nonlethal damage, would the griffon then be able to use its iterative BAB attack to attack with its natural weapons, Bite +2, Rake +3, Rake +3 at the iterative - 5 BAB in that first round? Sorry for the wall of text. I posted the detailed example, because I'm not sure I'm understanding all of that correctly and want to see if others noticed any mistakes in my examples, so I could figure out how all that is supposed to work for sure. It's probably made more complicated because griffons don't have improved grab, but they do have rake and pounce. [/QUOTE]
Insert quotes…
Verification
Post reply
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Dungeons & Dragons
Question about how griffon dive and bite attack
Top