Question About Wands

Ok, I know that a character can only use a wand if the spell is on their class list (or they make a UMD check) but where does it actually state this in the rules.

I looked for this for 20 minutes last night and the only reference I could find was in the UMD skill description. Can anyone give me a page number reference or a link to where it is in the SRD.

Thanks,

Olaf the Stout
 

log in or register to remove this ad

This one, under "Methods of activation" :

SRD said:
Spell Trigger: Spell trigger activation is similar to spell completion, but it’s even simpler. No gestures or spell finishing is needed, just a special knowledge of spellcasting that an appropriate character would know, and a single word that must be spoken. Anyone with a spell on his or her spell list knows how to use a spell trigger item that stores that spell. (This is the case even for a character who can’t actually cast spells, such as a 3rd-level paladin.) The user must still determine what spell is stored in the item before she can activate it. Activating a spell trigger item is a standard action and does not provoke attacks of opportunity.
 




Olaf the Stout said:
Thanks guys. It would have been nice if they hadn't hidden it away like that.

You'd prefer they didn't hide the rules for who can activate a magic item in the section on activating magic items?

Man, they're sneaky!

-Hyp.
 

Hypersmurf said:
Man, they're sneaky!
Are they ever! It's not under "Crossbow, Heavy". It's not under "Types, Subtypes, and Special Abilities". Where else would they expect me to look? :)
 

Hypersmurf said:
You'd prefer they didn't hide the rules for who can activate a magic item in the section on activating magic items?

Man, they're sneaky!

-Hyp.

Was it that hard to mention something in the wands section? Or in the relevant character classes descriptions?

I honestly looked for a rule on this for over 20 minutes the other night. Despite knowing exactly what I was looking for (and being 99% certain of the rule anyway) I couldn't seem to find it.

Guess I must have rolled a 1 on my Spot check! :heh:

Olaf the Stout
 

Remove ads

Top