Menu
News
All News
Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
Pathfinder
Starfinder
Warhammer
2d20 System
Year Zero Engine
Industry News
Reviews
Dragon Reflections
White Dwarf Reflections
Columns
Weekly Digests
Weekly News Digest
Freebies, Sales & Bundles
RPG Print News
RPG Crowdfunding News
Game Content
ENterplanetary DimENsions
Mythological Figures
Opinion
Worlds of Design
Peregrine's Nest
RPG Evolution
Other Columns
From the Freelancing Frontline
Monster ENcyclopedia
WotC/TSR Alumni Look Back
4 Hours w/RSD (Ryan Dancey)
The Road to 3E (Jonathan Tweet)
Greenwood's Realms (Ed Greenwood)
Drawmij's TSR (Jim Ward)
Community
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Resources
Wiki
Pages
Latest activity
Media
New media
New comments
Search media
Downloads
Latest reviews
Search resources
EN Publishing
Store
EN5ider
Adventures in ZEITGEIST
Awfully Cheerful Engine
What's OLD is NEW
Judge Dredd & The Worlds Of 2000AD
War of the Burning Sky
Level Up: Advanced 5E
Events & Releases
Upcoming Events
Private Events
Featured Events
Socials!
EN Publishing
Twitter
BlueSky
Facebook
Instagram
EN World
BlueSky
YouTube
Facebook
Twitter
Twitch
Podcast
Features
Top 5 RPGs Compiled Charts 2004-Present
Adventure Game Industry Market Research Summary (RPGs) V1.0
Ryan Dancey: Acquiring TSR
Q&A With Gary Gygax
D&D Rules FAQs
TSR, WotC, & Paizo: A Comparative History
D&D Pronunciation Guide
Million Dollar TTRPG Kickstarters
Tabletop RPG Podcast Hall of Fame
Eric Noah's Unofficial D&D 3rd Edition News
D&D in the Mainstream
D&D & RPG History
About Morrus
Log in
Register
What's new
Search
Search
Search titles only
By:
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Menu
Log in
Register
Install the app
Install
Upgrade your account to a Community Supporter account and remove most of the site ads.
Enchanted Trinkets Complete--a hardcover book containing over 500 magic items for your D&D games!
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Dungeons & Dragons
Question: Spirit Guardians/Distant Spell metamagic interaction?
JavaScript is disabled. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser before proceeding.
You are using an out of date browser. It may not display this or other websites correctly.
You should upgrade or use an
alternative browser
.
Reply to thread
Message
<blockquote data-quote="Arial Black" data-source="post: 7640570" data-attributes="member: 6799649"><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>I have a 5e spell app on my phone; that's what I referenced for the range entry for <em>thunderclap</em> as 'Self (5-foot radius)'. The app says this spell appears in Elemental Evil and Xanathar's Guide to Everything.</p><p></p><p>Checking my hardbacks:-</p><p></p><p>Princes of the Apocalypse (I think it and Elemental Evil are two names for the same thing, but I could be wrong. I own PotA but not EE) has the range entry for <em>thunderclap</em> as 'Self (5-foot radius)' on p240.</p><p></p><p>Xanathar's Guide to Everything has the range as '5 feet' on p168.</p><p></p><p>It's hardly surprising that the writers use these terms interchangeably, since they both result in <em>exactly the same creatures being affected</em> whichever way they are written!</p><p></p><p>And now you say D&D Beyond has something else meaning the exact same thing! Further evidence of a distinction without a difference.</p><p></p><p>You think that '<span style="color: #333333"><span style="font-family: 'Verdana'">It becomes different when some individual creatures can be excluded'? Let's see:-</span></span></p><p><span style="color: #333333"><span style="font-family: 'Verdana'"></span></span></p><p><span style="color: #333333"><span style="font-family: 'Verdana'">In the PotA version of the spell (Range: Self (5-foot radius)), it says 'Each creature other than you within 5 feet of you...'</span></span></p><p><span style="color: #333333"><span style="font-family: 'Verdana'"></span></span></p><p><span style="color: #333333"><span style="font-family: 'Verdana'">In the XGtE version (Range: 5 feet), it says 'Each creature within range, other than you...'</span></span></p><p><span style="color: #333333"><span style="font-family: 'Verdana'"></span></span></p><p><span style="color: #333333"><span style="font-family: 'Verdana'">To include a form of words which would allow some individuals to be excluded, <em>spirit guardians</em> (range: Self (15-foot radius)) says 'You call forth spirits to protect you. They flit around you to a <strong>distance</strong> (a synonym for range, not area of effect!) of 15 feet for the duration...When you cast this spell, you can designate any number of creatures you can see to be unaffected by it. An affected creature....'</span></span></p><p><span style="color: #333333"><span style="font-family: 'Verdana'"></span></span></p><p><span style="color: #333333"><span style="font-family: 'Verdana'">So, let's rewrite this, replacing the Range entry from 'Self (15-foot radius)' to 'Range: 15 feet':-</span></span></p><p><span style="color: #333333"><span style="font-family: 'Verdana'"></span></span></p><p><span style="color: #333333"><span style="font-family: 'Verdana'"></span></span><span style="color: #333333"><span style="font-family: 'Verdana'">'You call forth spirits to protect you. They flit around you to a </span></span><strong>distance of 15 feet for the duration...When you cast this spell, you can designate any number of creatures you can see to be unaffected by it. An affected creature....'</strong></p><p><strong></strong></p><p><strong>There is literally no change needed in the wording of the spell, whichever way the range is expressed. This is because the body of the spell refers to the distance (i.e. 'range') between you and any potentially affected creature. It then goes on to talk about how affected creatures are affected in the area.</strong></p><p><strong></strong></p><p><strong>Ergo, for spells which have an aura/burst/emanation from the caster which affects individual creatures, 'an affected creature in the area of effect' and 'range from you to the affected creature' are functionally identical. They are two ways of saying the same thing. This is why a spell description can use these interchangeably within the very same spell description, as <em>spirit guardians</em> does. You could literally (I don't use that word casually) change the Range entry from 'Self (15-foot radius)' to 'Range: 15 feet' and absolutely nothing about how the spell works or which creatures would be affected would change in any way!</strong></p><p><strong></strong></p><p><strong>Therefore the part in brackets after 'Self' IS the range, and makes it eligible to be altered by Distant Spell.</strong></p><p><strong></strong></p><p><strong>(BTW, I don't know why everything is suddenly in bold. It's not deliberate)</strong></p></blockquote><p></p>
[QUOTE="Arial Black, post: 7640570, member: 6799649"] [I][/I] I have a 5e spell app on my phone; that's what I referenced for the range entry for [I]thunderclap[/I] as 'Self (5-foot radius)'. The app says this spell appears in Elemental Evil and Xanathar's Guide to Everything. Checking my hardbacks:- Princes of the Apocalypse (I think it and Elemental Evil are two names for the same thing, but I could be wrong. I own PotA but not EE) has the range entry for [I]thunderclap[/I] as 'Self (5-foot radius)' on p240. Xanathar's Guide to Everything has the range as '5 feet' on p168. It's hardly surprising that the writers use these terms interchangeably, since they both result in [I]exactly the same creatures being affected[/I] whichever way they are written! And now you say D&D Beyond has something else meaning the exact same thing! Further evidence of a distinction without a difference. You think that '[COLOR=#333333][FONT=Verdana]It becomes different when some individual creatures can be excluded'? Let's see:- In the PotA version of the spell (Range: Self (5-foot radius)), it says 'Each creature other than you within 5 feet of you...' In the XGtE version (Range: 5 feet), it says 'Each creature within range, other than you...' To include a form of words which would allow some individuals to be excluded, [I]spirit guardians[/I] (range: Self (15-foot radius)) says 'You call forth spirits to protect you. They flit around you to a [B]distance[/B] (a synonym for range, not area of effect!) of 15 feet for the duration...When you cast this spell, you can designate any number of creatures you can see to be unaffected by it. An affected creature....' So, let's rewrite this, replacing the Range entry from 'Self (15-foot radius)' to 'Range: 15 feet':- [/FONT][/COLOR][COLOR=#333333][FONT=Verdana]'You call forth spirits to protect you. They flit around you to a [/FONT][/COLOR][B]distance of 15 feet for the duration...When you cast this spell, you can designate any number of creatures you can see to be unaffected by it. An affected creature....' There is literally no change needed in the wording of the spell, whichever way the range is expressed. This is because the body of the spell refers to the distance (i.e. 'range') between you and any potentially affected creature. It then goes on to talk about how affected creatures are affected in the area. Ergo, for spells which have an aura/burst/emanation from the caster which affects individual creatures, 'an affected creature in the area of effect' and 'range from you to the affected creature' are functionally identical. They are two ways of saying the same thing. This is why a spell description can use these interchangeably within the very same spell description, as [I]spirit guardians[/I] does. You could literally (I don't use that word casually) change the Range entry from 'Self (15-foot radius)' to 'Range: 15 feet' and absolutely nothing about how the spell works or which creatures would be affected would change in any way! Therefore the part in brackets after 'Self' IS the range, and makes it eligible to be altered by Distant Spell. (BTW, I don't know why everything is suddenly in bold. It's not deliberate)[/B] [/QUOTE]
Insert quotes…
Verification
Post reply
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Dungeons & Dragons
Question: Spirit Guardians/Distant Spell metamagic interaction?
Top