D&D 5E Questions very complex about SPELLS !! HELP !!!!

maritimo80

First Post
We have some doubts cast spells in our group.


PHB 190, says that a reaction can be used once per round, both in their turn as in the other. And the PHB 202, says Reaction Spells use take a fraction of a second to bring about and are cast in response to some event and Action Bonus Spells, you can not cast another spell During the same turn, except for the cantrip with the casting team of 1 action.


Then ask them ....


1) Can I use the same turn my, one Action Spell and one Reaction Spell ?


2) Can I use the same turn mine, one Bonus Action Spell and one Reaction Spell ?


3) If a Wizard cast Sunbean Spell (action), and the enemy sorcerer cast Counterspell (reaction), a second Wizard, Wizard ally who cast the Sunbean, can cast one Counsterspell (reaction) to bar conusterspell the enemy Wizard?


4) If a Wizard cast Sunbean Spell (action), and the enemy sorcerer cast Counterspell, the same Wizard can use your reaction to cast Counsterspell to bar conusterspell the enemy Wizard? If he can do it, lose or not Sunbean Spell?


==================================================


REACTIONS - PHB 190
Certain special abilities, spells, and situations allow
you to take a special action called a reaction. A reaction
is an instant response to a trigger of some kind, which
can occur on your turn or on someone else’s. The
opportunity attack, described later in this chapter, is the
most common type o f reaction.
When you take a reaction, you can’t take another one
until the start of your next turn. If the reaction interrupts
another creature’s turn, that creature can continue its
turn right after the reaction.


==================================================


B o n u s A c t io n
A spell cast with a bonus action is especially swift. You
must use a bonus action on your turn to cast the spell,
provided that you haven’t already taken a bonus action
this turn. You can’t cast another spell during the same
turn, except for a cantrip with a casting time o f 1 action.
R e a c t io n s
Some spells can be cast as reactions. These spells
take a fraction o f a second to bring about and are cast
in response to some event. If a spell can be cast as a
reaction, the spell description tells you exactly when
you can do so.
L o n g e r C a s t in g T im e s
Certain spells (including spells cast as rituals) require
more time to cast: minutes or even hours. When you
cast a spell with a casting time longer than a single
action or reaction, you must spend your action each
turn casting the spell, and you must maintain your
concentration while you do so (see “Concentration”
below). If your concentration is broken, the spell fails,
but you don’t expend a spell slot. If you want to try
casting the spell again, you must start over.
 

log in or register to remove this ad


  1. Yes. Nothing in the rules prevents this.
  2. No, because you have cast a bonus action spell you can not cast another spell on your turn unless it is a cantrip.
  3. Yes, this counterspell is a spell and can itself be counterspelled.
  4. Yes, if the original wizard has his reaction there is nothing preventing him from using it to cast counterspell himself. Neither is a bonus action so those limits don't apply, and nothing in the wording of counterspell prevents this.

I thought we already had a good counterspell thread going, why the need to make another thread to talk about the exact same thing?
 

How are you pasting out of the PHB? i thought WotC didn't release any official PDFs. i sure hope you haven't pirated them as that would be very low given how much you obviously enjoy the game.

as for your questions, you can take one action, one reaction, and one bonus action. you can take reactions on your turn, including ones that involve casting a spell. since these special reaction spells cost neither an action or bonus action, you still have both of those available to spend as normal. the only requirement for a reaction is that its trigger is met. it can be spent directly when the trigger comes up, no matter whose turn it is.


the wizard in question can in fact counterspell the enemy counterspell as that spell is a reaction and not bound by the rules on bonus action spells.
 
Last edited:

  1. Yes. Nothing in the rules prevents this.
  2. No, because you have cast a bonus action spell you can not cast another spell on your turn unless it is a cantrip.
  3. Yes, this counterspell is a spell and can itself be counterspelled.
  4. Yes, if the original wizard has his reaction there is nothing preventing him from using it to cast counterspell himself. Neither is a bonus action so those limits don't apply, and nothing in the wording of counterspell prevents this.

I thought we already had a good counterspell thread going, why the need to make another thread to talk about the exact same thing?

i think he got an answer he didn't like in the other thread.
 

i think he got an answer he didn't like in the other thread.

Sorry for my English. I'm from Brazil !!!

The question for me these main questions are ....

The book says that if you use a bonus action, can not use another spell. Reaction was this "another spell." But if it proceeds, and reaction spell can not be used even with bonus action spell, because it could be used with Action Spell?

I see no logic in it!
 

How are you pasting out of the PHB? i thought WotC didn't release any official PDFs. i sure hope you haven't pirated them as that would be very low given how much you obviously enjoy the game.

as for your questions, you can take one action, one reaction, and one bonus action. you can take reactions on your turn, including ones that involve casting a spell. since these special reaction spells cost neither an action or bonus action, you still have both of those available to spend as normal. the only requirement for a reaction is that its trigger is met. it can be spent directly when the trigger comes up, no matter whose turn it is.


the wizard in question can in fact counterspell the enemy counterspell as that spell is a reaction and not bound by the rules on bonus action spells.

I have the original books !!!!
 

  1. Yes. Nothing in the rules prevents this.
  2. No, because you have cast a bonus action spell you can not cast another spell on your turn unless it is a cantrip.
  3. Yes, this counterspell is a spell and can itself be counterspelled.
  4. Yes, if the original wizard has his reaction there is nothing preventing him from using it to cast counterspell himself. Neither is a bonus action so those limits don't apply, and nothing in the wording of counterspell prevents this.

I thought we already had a good counterspell thread going, why the need to make another thread to talk about the exact same thing?


The question for me these main questions are ....

The book says that if you use a bonus action, can not use another spell. Reaction was this "another spell." But if it proceeds, and reaction spell can not be used even with bonus action spell, because it could be used with Action Spell?

I see no logic in it!
 

Please use less ALL-CAPS and exclamation marks... It won't make your post seem more important, people won't think that it deserves more attention, but it does make you look like some annoying teen or an angered grandma on the internet.
 


Remove ads

Top