Quickened Spell and held actions.

Darmanicus

I'm Ray...of Enfeeblement
This might be a silly question but can you hold a quickened spell whilst taking your other actions?

For example......

Party encounters evil wizard and minions. Party wizard beats evil wizard on initiative so moves into position, launches a chaos blast at the minions but holds his quickened spell to disrupt evil wizards casting.

Is this possible,(I've never been this level before as DM is particularly lethal, therefore a quickened spell has never really been an option)?

I was also reading a story hour thread and in it three hasted wizards cast two spells each in one round. Is this also a possibility or is it a house rule?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Darmanicus said:
This might be a silly question but can you hold a quickened spell whilst taking your other actions?

For example......

Party encounters evil wizard and minions. Party wizard beats evil wizard on initiative so moves into position, launches a chaos blast at the minions but holds his quickened spell to disrupt evil wizards casting.

Is this possible,(I've never been this level before as DM is particularly lethal, therefore a quickened spell has never really been an option)?

I was also reading a story hour thread and in it three hasted wizards cast two spells each in one round. Is this also a possibility or is it a house rule?

IIUC, I think you need a Ready action to cast the Q-spell and disrupt him. Since you have already moved and cast as well, there's no standard action left to Ready.

Remember that even if free actions take no time, they are still subject to limits and in this case the limit that plays the part is that you can't do free actions on someone else's turn.
 

It seems to me that you could quicken your original spell during your turn and ready a not-quickened spell to disrupt his spellcasting.

The haste thing doesn't work in 3.5. It did in 3.0.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top