Raleigh area good for gamers?

The Harbinger

First Post
Hey guys...I know Lost Goblin Games is there, but is the area good for gamers - are there a bunch of folks interested in playing? I'm moving to the area from Winston-Salem within the month and I'm hoping to get in a 3.5 game that would plan to transition into 4e (wherever there is sufficient material available). My job will be close to Wake Forest, so I suspect I'll end up somewhere in the NE of Raleigh.

Peruhain

First Post
Sorry, this is a bit off-topic, but I'm just new to the Winston-Salem area and wondering if you can give me any hints about how to get in touch with gamers over here. Sorry I can't help with the Raleigh area, but will appreciate any advice you can pass on for the area your leaving.

Jagged

First Post
I and my son have been looking for some folks to play with in this area (edition doesn't really matter) for a couple of months now. We live just east of Raleigh and are definately interested.

absinthe_pernod

First Post
Just thought I would chime in,

I would say that the Raleigh area is great for gaming, almost too good in fact. The problem that I and others I have met have had is being a DM is it seems that there tend to be more people looking to GM than to play. A good resource if you are looking for gamers or to join a game (besides ENworld) is meetup dot com (spelled out so as to avoid the censors). Type in a Raleigh area code and head for the Raleigh D&D meetup and you will find an abundance of people looking for players (including myself). So the games are definately out there.

And besides Lost Goblin there is another pretty good game store, Hobby Masters, which is near Crabtree Mall in Raleigh. If you are the kind of shopper that doesn't want some one hovering over you every minute, disparaging your taste in fantasy settings-Hobby Masters is the place to go.