Re-entering a clound = another save?

0-hr

Starship Cartographer
If a target enters a cloud, fog, or similar area of effect that requires a fort save, and then he leaves it, and then he re-enters it, does he get a new fort save?

The spell that raised this issue was the warlock incantation "Miasmic cloud" from Complete Arcane. The description says that anyone who enters the cloud must make a save.

So if you fail your save and exit the cloud, do you get a second chance if you leave and then come back in? Ipso facto, if you succed in your save and leave, do you have to re-save when you come back in?

My character entered the cloud and made his save. So then I found myself in the position where I had better stay in the cloud, because if I leave and then re-enter the cloud (or it comes to me) I might not make the save the second time. That seems sort of backwards.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

I think it depends upon whether, after making his save, must he then leave the cloud? If he can voluntarily stay in the cloud with no further saving throws, I'd allow and exit and re-enter without another save as well.
 

Ki Ryn said:
My character entered the cloud and made his save. So then I found myself in the position where I had better stay in the cloud, because if I leave and then re-enter the cloud (or it comes to me) I might not make the save the second time. That seems sort of backwards.
Yes it is backward.
 

Ki Ryn said:
So if you fail your save and exit the cloud, do you get a second chance if you leave and then come back in?

In my experience, if you fail a save, there aren't many cases where you'd voluntarily undergo that save again in hopes of making it ("Darn, I failed the save vs. Disintegrate, and now I'm down to 4 hit points. Cast it on me again, and maybe I'll make the save this time!"), so I don't think it's that big of an issue. But, as far as your question goes, yes, you must make a new save every time you enter the cloud, unless the description says otherwise.
 

There are other similar spells, basically almost anything with an area effect, and I personally house rule that you cannot be affected by such a spell more than once in a round unless the spell explicitly states that you can. So, if something forced you in and out of the cloud, you would not feel the effect 3, 4, 5 or even more times in a single round.

This obviously answers your question in that I therefore think it would require/allow a second save only over different rounds (judged by when you entered, which may not be on your turn).
 

Remove ads

Top