Menu
News
All News
Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
Pathfinder
Starfinder
Warhammer
2d20 System
Year Zero Engine
Industry News
Reviews
Dragon Reflections
White Dwarf Reflections
Columns
Weekly Digests
Weekly News Digest
Freebies, Sales & Bundles
RPG Print News
RPG Crowdfunding News
Game Content
ENterplanetary DimENsions
Mythological Figures
Opinion
Worlds of Design
Peregrine's Nest
RPG Evolution
Other Columns
From the Freelancing Frontline
Monster ENcyclopedia
WotC/TSR Alumni Look Back
4 Hours w/RSD (Ryan Dancey)
The Road to 3E (Jonathan Tweet)
Greenwood's Realms (Ed Greenwood)
Drawmij's TSR (Jim Ward)
Community
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Resources
Wiki
Pages
Latest activity
Media
New media
New comments
Search media
Downloads
Latest reviews
Search resources
EN Publishing
Store
EN5ider
Adventures in ZEITGEIST
Awfully Cheerful Engine
What's OLD is NEW
Judge Dredd & The Worlds Of 2000AD
War of the Burning Sky
Level Up: Advanced 5E
Events & Releases
Upcoming Events
Private Events
Featured Events
Socials!
EN Publishing
Twitter
BlueSky
Facebook
Instagram
EN World
BlueSky
YouTube
Facebook
Twitter
Twitch
Podcast
Features
Top 5 RPGs Compiled Charts 2004-Present
Adventure Game Industry Market Research Summary (RPGs) V1.0
Ryan Dancey: Acquiring TSR
Q&A With Gary Gygax
D&D Rules FAQs
TSR, WotC, & Paizo: A Comparative History
D&D Pronunciation Guide
Million Dollar TTRPG Kickstarters
Tabletop RPG Podcast Hall of Fame
Eric Noah's Unofficial D&D 3rd Edition News
D&D in the Mainstream
D&D & RPG History
About Morrus
Log in
Register
What's new
Search
Search
Search titles only
By:
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Menu
Log in
Register
Install the app
Install
Upgrade your account to a Community Supporter account and remove most of the site ads.
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Dungeons & Dragons
Readied actions interrupting charges
JavaScript is disabled. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser before proceeding.
You are using an out of date browser. It may not display this or other websites correctly.
You should upgrade or use an
alternative browser
.
Reply to thread
Message
<blockquote data-quote="tomBitonti" data-source="post: 6279237" data-attributes="member: 13107"><p>How is this different than the simpler example:</p><p></p><p>A: Readies to shift 5' away if attacked.</p><p>B: Attacks A</p><p>A: Shifts 5' per the readied action.</p><p></p><p>Then, is B's action cancelled, but not lost, or entirely lost?</p><p></p><p>If this is modified by:</p><p></p><p>A: Readies to shift 5' away if attacked.</p><p>B: Moves 20' (out of 30') putting B next to A.</p><p>B: Attacks A.</p><p>A: Shifts 5' per the readied action.</p><p></p><p>Then, can B continue moving the extra 5' necessary, then perform the attack? </p><p></p><p>In either case, could B change targets from A to A', if they happen to also be adjacent to B?</p><p></p><p>Note the slightly different example:</p><p></p><p>A: Readies to move away from any opponent who moves within 10'.</p><p>B: Moves towards A (to make an attack).</p><p>A: Moves away from B per the readied action.</p><p>B: Continues moving towards A, reaching them (or not) depending on the remaining movement. Or, swerves to A', who can still be reached in B's remaining movement.</p><p></p><p>Or (depending on whether the equivalent of tanglefoot bags exist in 4E, and whether a charge can be continued if movement is impeded):</p><p></p><p>A: Readies to throw a tanglefoot bag on any opponent who moves within 10'.</p><p>B: Charges A from a distance of 20'.</p><p>A: Throws the tanglefoot bag when B is 10' away, and successfully hits.</p><p></p><p>Then, B's movement is halved. In 3E, that would prevent the completion of the charge.</p><p>Would B complete their motion to A (assuming 30', which is enough to reach A, even impeded), then be given a normal attack against A? Or would B stop immediately when the charge could no longer be completed?</p><p></p><p>In all of the examples, would penalties for charging apply even if the charge could not be completed? (My gut says definitely yes, but, that means the charge is not entirely cancelled -- the charge has still happened to some extent.)</p><p></p><p>Thx!</p><p></p><p>TomB</p></blockquote><p></p>
[QUOTE="tomBitonti, post: 6279237, member: 13107"] How is this different than the simpler example: A: Readies to shift 5' away if attacked. B: Attacks A A: Shifts 5' per the readied action. Then, is B's action cancelled, but not lost, or entirely lost? If this is modified by: A: Readies to shift 5' away if attacked. B: Moves 20' (out of 30') putting B next to A. B: Attacks A. A: Shifts 5' per the readied action. Then, can B continue moving the extra 5' necessary, then perform the attack? In either case, could B change targets from A to A', if they happen to also be adjacent to B? Note the slightly different example: A: Readies to move away from any opponent who moves within 10'. B: Moves towards A (to make an attack). A: Moves away from B per the readied action. B: Continues moving towards A, reaching them (or not) depending on the remaining movement. Or, swerves to A', who can still be reached in B's remaining movement. Or (depending on whether the equivalent of tanglefoot bags exist in 4E, and whether a charge can be continued if movement is impeded): A: Readies to throw a tanglefoot bag on any opponent who moves within 10'. B: Charges A from a distance of 20'. A: Throws the tanglefoot bag when B is 10' away, and successfully hits. Then, B's movement is halved. In 3E, that would prevent the completion of the charge. Would B complete their motion to A (assuming 30', which is enough to reach A, even impeded), then be given a normal attack against A? Or would B stop immediately when the charge could no longer be completed? In all of the examples, would penalties for charging apply even if the charge could not be completed? (My gut says definitely yes, but, that means the charge is not entirely cancelled -- the charge has still happened to some extent.) Thx! TomB [/QUOTE]
Insert quotes…
Verification
Post reply
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Dungeons & Dragons
Readied actions interrupting charges
Top