Menu
News
All News
Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
Pathfinder
Starfinder
Warhammer
2d20 System
Year Zero Engine
Industry News
Reviews
Dragon Reflections
White Dwarf Reflections
Columns
Weekly Digests
Weekly News Digest
Freebies, Sales & Bundles
RPG Print News
RPG Crowdfunding News
Game Content
ENterplanetary DimENsions
Mythological Figures
Opinion
Worlds of Design
Peregrine's Nest
RPG Evolution
Other Columns
From the Freelancing Frontline
Monster ENcyclopedia
WotC/TSR Alumni Look Back
4 Hours w/RSD (Ryan Dancey)
The Road to 3E (Jonathan Tweet)
Greenwood's Realms (Ed Greenwood)
Drawmij's TSR (Jim Ward)
Community
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Resources
Wiki
Pages
Latest activity
Media
New media
New comments
Search media
Downloads
Latest reviews
Search resources
EN Publishing
Store
EN5ider
Adventures in ZEITGEIST
Awfully Cheerful Engine
What's OLD is NEW
Judge Dredd & The Worlds Of 2000AD
War of the Burning Sky
Level Up: Advanced 5E
Events & Releases
Upcoming Events
Private Events
Featured Events
Socials!
EN Publishing
Twitter
BlueSky
Facebook
Instagram
EN World
BlueSky
YouTube
Facebook
Twitter
Twitch
Podcast
Features
Top 5 RPGs Compiled Charts 2004-Present
Adventure Game Industry Market Research Summary (RPGs) V1.0
Ryan Dancey: Acquiring TSR
Q&A With Gary Gygax
D&D Rules FAQs
TSR, WotC, & Paizo: A Comparative History
D&D Pronunciation Guide
Million Dollar TTRPG Kickstarters
Tabletop RPG Podcast Hall of Fame
Eric Noah's Unofficial D&D 3rd Edition News
D&D in the Mainstream
D&D & RPG History
About Morrus
Log in
Register
What's new
Search
Search
Search titles only
By:
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Menu
Log in
Register
Install the app
Install
Upgrade your account to a Community Supporter account and remove most of the site ads.
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Dungeons & Dragons
Readied actions interrupting charges
JavaScript is disabled. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser before proceeding.
You are using an out of date browser. It may not display this or other websites correctly.
You should upgrade or use an
alternative browser
.
Reply to thread
Message
<blockquote data-quote="AbdulAlhazred" data-source="post: 6279263" data-attributes="member: 82106"><p>Its ambiguous. If you are talking about B charging A then we don't know. Again, Charge is an ACTION and no rule covers 'targets' of actions. You could interpret it either way, that the Charge has a target and you can only attack that target, or that the MBA can be invoked whenever a legal target exists for it (after 2 squares of movement). If we're NOT talking about a charge, then this situation is trivial, B loses its attack. B has already ended its Move action and it no longer has a valid target for its 'Use A Power' Standard Action. I would note however that there are quirks here. A trigger can only be invoked on a readied action based on an ACTION of an enemy or a square of enemy movement. Choosing a target is a STEP of an attack action, thus A must decide if he's moving away before he knows B's target. Its arguable he doesn't even know what type of attack B is making when he decides to step away. Its even arguable that B can decide that AFTER A steps away. Thus the 'step away' tactic may be quite a bit more limited than some people might think at first glance.</p><p></p><p></p><p>No, once B initiates the attack he's attacking, not moving. This is true whether or not we're talking about a charge. Again, the question is if A's trigger happens before or after B chooses a target and a power to use (if its a charge then these things may already be apparent, but not always).</p><p></p><p></p><p>Without specific rules covering 'targets of actions' and assuming a charge we just don't know. There are no specific rules that cover this. It is up to the DM. </p><p></p><p></p><p>Yes, B can continue to move in this case, he hasn't completed his move yet and isn't obligated to end it. The 'swerve to A' part' is up to the DM still.</p><p></p><p></p><p>This is 'an attack which slows the opponent'. The rules here are that the slowed creature's movement rate drops to 2. It can then continue with any movement it might still be eligible for (IE if it moved 1 square already it could still move one more square). If it has a legal target at that point, it can execute an attack. This isn't really ambiguous in the context of 4e rules, though again we aren't sure how the 'target of an action' is defined if this is a charge.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>This isn't really spelled out in the rules either, but I would say 'yes', if you charge then you pay the costs of charging, which is your turn ends as soon as you finish the charge. Again, the rules don't cover 'failed charges', so we really can't say what RAW is here, but it seems sensible to me.</p></blockquote><p></p>
[QUOTE="AbdulAlhazred, post: 6279263, member: 82106"] Its ambiguous. If you are talking about B charging A then we don't know. Again, Charge is an ACTION and no rule covers 'targets' of actions. You could interpret it either way, that the Charge has a target and you can only attack that target, or that the MBA can be invoked whenever a legal target exists for it (after 2 squares of movement). If we're NOT talking about a charge, then this situation is trivial, B loses its attack. B has already ended its Move action and it no longer has a valid target for its 'Use A Power' Standard Action. I would note however that there are quirks here. A trigger can only be invoked on a readied action based on an ACTION of an enemy or a square of enemy movement. Choosing a target is a STEP of an attack action, thus A must decide if he's moving away before he knows B's target. Its arguable he doesn't even know what type of attack B is making when he decides to step away. Its even arguable that B can decide that AFTER A steps away. Thus the 'step away' tactic may be quite a bit more limited than some people might think at first glance. No, once B initiates the attack he's attacking, not moving. This is true whether or not we're talking about a charge. Again, the question is if A's trigger happens before or after B chooses a target and a power to use (if its a charge then these things may already be apparent, but not always). Without specific rules covering 'targets of actions' and assuming a charge we just don't know. There are no specific rules that cover this. It is up to the DM. Yes, B can continue to move in this case, he hasn't completed his move yet and isn't obligated to end it. The 'swerve to A' part' is up to the DM still. This is 'an attack which slows the opponent'. The rules here are that the slowed creature's movement rate drops to 2. It can then continue with any movement it might still be eligible for (IE if it moved 1 square already it could still move one more square). If it has a legal target at that point, it can execute an attack. This isn't really ambiguous in the context of 4e rules, though again we aren't sure how the 'target of an action' is defined if this is a charge. This isn't really spelled out in the rules either, but I would say 'yes', if you charge then you pay the costs of charging, which is your turn ends as soon as you finish the charge. Again, the rules don't cover 'failed charges', so we really can't say what RAW is here, but it seems sensible to me. [/QUOTE]
Insert quotes…
Verification
Post reply
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Dungeons & Dragons
Readied actions interrupting charges
Top