Recharging Wands

galaga88

Explorer
This is a stupid question. Can you recharge wands?

I seem to remember that being possible, but can't find it in the rules. In my old age, I fear I've probably intermixed my memory of CRPGs with PnP RPGs. Any comments?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

galaga88 said:
This is a stupid question. Can you recharge wands?

I seem to remember that being possible, but can't find it in the rules. In my old age, I fear I've probably intermixed my memory of CRPGs with PnP RPGs. Any comments?

More likely you're intermixing your memory of 3E with prior editions.

You could recharge wands in 1E and 2E. I don't think you can in 3E, by the RAW, though I won't swear to that.
 

They dropped that in the 3.0 wotc edition. Because wands are cheaper, safer and easier to make than previous editions, recharging wasn't brought over from 2E.
 

You cannot recharge a wand or staff (or scroll or potion), but if you could you would probably need the same prerequisites and to pay the same cost (time and gp) as making a new one.

Therefore the difference is minimal, and as soon as you are running out of charges, you can just keep the second wand ready.

It could be slightly more uncomfortable in 3.0 than 3.5 because of the _consecutive_ days needed to make a magic item without interruption, which could make some higher-level wands more difficult to replace if the campaign is very intensive.
 

I've seen house rules that address this, and, since most of my players have played together since 1e, and we like consistency in the experiences of our characters' worlds, we've tried to accomodate it. Li Shenron's points about having the same prerequisites and paying the same costs is roughly what we do (different DMs, different choices).

If you're concerned about official rules, then no, you can't do it. If you're interested in optional ways of handling magic then it's all about house rules.

Dave
 


Remove ads

Top