Rod of Flame Extinguishing vs. Dragon Breath

Menexenus

First Post
I'm sure this question has been asked and answered a dozen times, but this is the first time it has come up in my campaign. So please bear with me...

Can a Rod of Flame Extinguishing negate a red dragon's breath weapon? (I'm assuming that if it could work, it would have to be readied to do so and would consume 2 charges.) So what is the consensus out there? Does this trick work or not? (I'm a rat-bastard DM, so I assumed that it doesn't. But I'm willing to admit that I could be wrong. So I'm coming to you all for advice.)

Thanks in advance!
 

log in or register to remove this ad

From SRD,

Flame Extinguishing: This rod can extinguish Medium or smaller nonmagical fires with simply a touch (a standard action). For the rod to be effective against other sorts of fires, the wielder must expend 1 or more of the rod’s charges.
Extinguishing a Large or larger nonmagical fire, or a magic fire of Medium or smaller (such as that of a flaming weapon or a burning hands spell), expends 1 charge. Continual magic flames, such as those of a weapon or a fire creature, are suppressed for 6 rounds and flare up again after that time. To extinguish an instantaneous fire spell, the rod must be within the area of the effect and the wielder must have used a ready action, effectively countering the entire spell.
When applied to Large or larger magic fires, such as those caused by fireball, flame strike, or wall of fire, extinguishing the flames expends 2 charges from the rod.
If the device is used upon a fire creature (a melee touch attack), it deals 6d6 points of damage to the creature. This use requires 3 charges.
A rod of flame extinguishing has 10 charges when found. Spent charges are renewed every day, so that a wielder can expend up to 10 charges in any 24-hour period.
Strong transmutation; CL 12th; Craft Rod, pyrotechnics; Price 15,000 gp.

It may not be crystal clear. But I guess fire based breath weapons are within "Large or larger magic fire" category.

But dragons are clever. Especially those lived for a long time are. Most Red dragons are expecting that adventurers who dare to challenge him are well prepared for fire attacks. And also, he may simply know about popular magic items such as Rod of Flame Extinguishing (Red Drgons usually have very high Knowledge (arcana) and Spellcraft skills). When a red dragon sees an adventure is preparing a rod and waiting for something to happen, he may recognize the intention and use his melee attacks instead, or just use Breath Weapon Substitution spell (Draconomicon/Spell Compendium).
 

I'd say it looks like countering a breath weapon attack can be disallowed by a technicality of the rules for the item's abilities.

To extinguish an instantaneous fire spell, the rod must be within the area of the effect and the wielder must have used a ready action, effectively countering the entire spell.

Because it calls out instantaneous fire spell rather than instantaneous fire effect, not allowing to the rod to stop incoming dragon breath has some rules standing. The rod could still put out any fires left behind by the superatural ability, but that's after the fire damage is done.

IMHO the rod stopping a dragon's fire breath is within the theme of the item, but it can be disallowed from the way the entry worded.
 

Remove ads

Top