Menu
News
All News
Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
Pathfinder
Starfinder
Warhammer
2d20 System
Year Zero Engine
Industry News
Reviews
Dragon Reflections
White Dwarf Reflections
Columns
Weekly Digests
Weekly News Digest
Freebies, Sales & Bundles
RPG Print News
RPG Crowdfunding News
Game Content
ENterplanetary DimENsions
Mythological Figures
Opinion
Worlds of Design
Peregrine's Nest
RPG Evolution
Other Columns
From the Freelancing Frontline
Monster ENcyclopedia
WotC/TSR Alumni Look Back
4 Hours w/RSD (Ryan Dancey)
The Road to 3E (Jonathan Tweet)
Greenwood's Realms (Ed Greenwood)
Drawmij's TSR (Jim Ward)
Community
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Resources
Wiki
Pages
Latest activity
Media
New media
New comments
Search media
Downloads
Latest reviews
Search resources
EN Publishing
Store
EN5ider
Adventures in ZEITGEIST
Awfully Cheerful Engine
What's OLD is NEW
Judge Dredd & The Worlds Of 2000AD
War of the Burning Sky
Level Up: Advanced 5E
Events & Releases
Upcoming Events
Private Events
Featured Events
Socials!
EN Publishing
Twitter
BlueSky
Facebook
Instagram
EN World
BlueSky
YouTube
Facebook
Twitter
Twitch
Podcast
Features
Top 5 RPGs Compiled Charts 2004-Present
Adventure Game Industry Market Research Summary (RPGs) V1.0
Ryan Dancey: Acquiring TSR
Q&A With Gary Gygax
D&D Rules FAQs
TSR, WotC, & Paizo: A Comparative History
D&D Pronunciation Guide
Million Dollar TTRPG Kickstarters
Tabletop RPG Podcast Hall of Fame
Eric Noah's Unofficial D&D 3rd Edition News
D&D in the Mainstream
D&D & RPG History
About Morrus
Log in
Register
What's new
Search
Search
Search titles only
By:
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Menu
Log in
Register
Install the app
Install
Upgrade your account to a Community Supporter account and remove most of the site ads.
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Dungeons & Dragons
Sage Advice Compendium Update 1/30/2019
JavaScript is disabled. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser before proceeding.
You are using an out of date browser. It may not display this or other websites correctly.
You should upgrade or use an
alternative browser
.
Reply to thread
Message
<blockquote data-quote="Arial Black" data-source="post: 7578842" data-attributes="member: 6799649"><p>We tend to treat the rulebook as if it were holy writ, handed down from on high. The RAW is what it is, even if the guy who actually wrote those words wishes it were different.</p><p></p><p>We occasionally doubt what JC has to say via Sage Advice or (especially) Tweet, not merely because we disagree with it and want to ignore what he says if we disagree and leap upon what he says if it backs us up (although this does happen).</p><p></p><p>We can disagree with his Tweet/SA because when he reveals his <em>reasons</em> for his advice, we can see for himself that he is occasionally factually <em>wrong</em> about a thing!</p><p></p><p>Not always wrong, but often enough that we learn to analyse his advice to see if it makes sense, rather than just follow it blindly, as we do when discussing RAW.</p><p></p><p>As an example, the rulebook clearly sets out the difference between 'the damage dice of an <em>attack</em>' and 'the damage dice of the <em>weapon</em>'.</p><p></p><p>Savage Attacker uses 'the damage dice of the <em>weapon</em>', while critical hits use 'the damage dice of the <em>attack</em>'.</p><p></p><p>So, it is a simple matter to analyse the Great Weapon fighting style, to see if the re-roll of 1s and 2s applies only the the damage dice of the <em>weapon</em>, or to ALL the damage dice of the <em>attack</em>: simply read GWF and see which it says!</p><p></p><p>BTW, it says, "when you roll a 1 or 2 on a damage die for an <em>attack</em>...." So, job done, the re-rolls apply to Smite, Sneak Attack...every damage die for that <em>attack</em>.</p><p></p><p>JC then Tweets that it only applies to the <em>weapon</em> damage dice.</p><p></p><p>That seems....<em>strange</em>, JC! Why do you say this, when it contradicts the RAW?</p><p></p><p>JC says it's because it's too complicated to re-roll lots of dice, and that's the reason.</p><p></p><p>Is it? Is it though? Is it really enough to make a ruling that is <em>the exact opposite</em> of RAW?</p><p></p><p>The 'complexity' of the damage roll, without GWF, is that you roll the dice that the attack has, whether that's a single weapon damage die, or 2d6 (greatsword) + 4d8 radiant (Smite) + 2d6 fire (Flame Tongue).</p><p></p><p>The way GWF works is to add a single step: re-roll any die that came up 1 or 2. This one single added step remains one single added step whether the damage dice for the attack is a single die or 10 dice! It is simply not the case that more damage dice re-rolled makes the process more 'complicated'; certainly not enough to impact RAW.</p><p></p><p>So we can analyse the <em>reasoning</em> JC himself gives for whatever Tweet, and decide for ourselves how credible it is.</p><p></p><p>To the present topic, JC tweets, "If the existence of X is the condition for the existence of Y, X comes before Y."</p><p></p><p>X comes <em>before</em> Y? Are you sure, JC?</p><p></p><p>Because Wikipedia says, "statements of causality require the antecedent to precede <strong>or coincide</strong> with the consequent in time".</p><p></p><p>JC is wrong. He made his judgement based on an error, erroneously believing that the antecedent ('taking that Attack action') must <em>precede</em> the consequent (taking the bonus action it 'caused'). He ignore the fact that the two are allowed to coincide.</p><p></p><p>JC is even more wrong. He assumes, wrongly, that conditional statements ARE statements of causality. What does Wikipedia say? "Conditional statements are NOT statements of causality", and, "conditional statements do NOT require this temporal order". The conditional, RAW, was never 'after you <em>finish</em> taking the Attack action', or even 'after you <em>start</em> taking the Attack action'. The condition is, "If you take the Attack action <em>on your turn</em>". There is no required temporal order. The only requirement is to meet the condition, and this condition is satisfied by taking the Attack action on the same turn as you take the bonus action shield shove.</p><p></p><p>Since JC is simply wrong about causality. His rulings on it are fruits of a poisoned tree. <em>That's</em> why it has so little credibility! Not because it agrees or disagrees with our own opinion, but because we can see where he's wrong, and that the mistake caused the erroneous ruling.</p></blockquote><p></p>
[QUOTE="Arial Black, post: 7578842, member: 6799649"] We tend to treat the rulebook as if it were holy writ, handed down from on high. The RAW is what it is, even if the guy who actually wrote those words wishes it were different. We occasionally doubt what JC has to say via Sage Advice or (especially) Tweet, not merely because we disagree with it and want to ignore what he says if we disagree and leap upon what he says if it backs us up (although this does happen). We can disagree with his Tweet/SA because when he reveals his [i]reasons[/i] for his advice, we can see for himself that he is occasionally factually [i]wrong[/i] about a thing! Not always wrong, but often enough that we learn to analyse his advice to see if it makes sense, rather than just follow it blindly, as we do when discussing RAW. As an example, the rulebook clearly sets out the difference between 'the damage dice of an [i]attack[/i]' and 'the damage dice of the [i]weapon[/i]'. Savage Attacker uses 'the damage dice of the [i]weapon[/i]', while critical hits use 'the damage dice of the [i]attack[/i]'. So, it is a simple matter to analyse the Great Weapon fighting style, to see if the re-roll of 1s and 2s applies only the the damage dice of the [i]weapon[/i], or to ALL the damage dice of the [i]attack[/i]: simply read GWF and see which it says! BTW, it says, "when you roll a 1 or 2 on a damage die for an [i]attack[/i]...." So, job done, the re-rolls apply to Smite, Sneak Attack...every damage die for that [i]attack[/i]. JC then Tweets that it only applies to the [i]weapon[/i] damage dice. That seems....[i]strange[/i], JC! Why do you say this, when it contradicts the RAW? JC says it's because it's too complicated to re-roll lots of dice, and that's the reason. Is it? Is it though? Is it really enough to make a ruling that is [i]the exact opposite[/i] of RAW? The 'complexity' of the damage roll, without GWF, is that you roll the dice that the attack has, whether that's a single weapon damage die, or 2d6 (greatsword) + 4d8 radiant (Smite) + 2d6 fire (Flame Tongue). The way GWF works is to add a single step: re-roll any die that came up 1 or 2. This one single added step remains one single added step whether the damage dice for the attack is a single die or 10 dice! It is simply not the case that more damage dice re-rolled makes the process more 'complicated'; certainly not enough to impact RAW. So we can analyse the [i]reasoning[/i] JC himself gives for whatever Tweet, and decide for ourselves how credible it is. To the present topic, JC tweets, "If the existence of X is the condition for the existence of Y, X comes before Y." X comes [i]before[/i] Y? Are you sure, JC? Because Wikipedia says, "statements of causality require the antecedent to precede [b]or coincide[/b] with the consequent in time". JC is wrong. He made his judgement based on an error, erroneously believing that the antecedent ('taking that Attack action') must [i]precede[/i] the consequent (taking the bonus action it 'caused'). He ignore the fact that the two are allowed to coincide. JC is even more wrong. He assumes, wrongly, that conditional statements ARE statements of causality. What does Wikipedia say? "Conditional statements are NOT statements of causality", and, "conditional statements do NOT require this temporal order". The conditional, RAW, was never 'after you [i]finish[/i] taking the Attack action', or even 'after you [i]start[/i] taking the Attack action'. The condition is, "If you take the Attack action [i]on your turn[/i]". There is no required temporal order. The only requirement is to meet the condition, and this condition is satisfied by taking the Attack action on the same turn as you take the bonus action shield shove. Since JC is simply wrong about causality. His rulings on it are fruits of a poisoned tree. [i]That's[/i] why it has so little credibility! Not because it agrees or disagrees with our own opinion, but because we can see where he's wrong, and that the mistake caused the erroneous ruling. [/QUOTE]
Insert quotes…
Verification
Post reply
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Dungeons & Dragons
Sage Advice Compendium Update 1/30/2019
Top