Saves for magic item abilities?

Jeff Wilder

First Post
Some magic item abilities specify a saving throw. Others, however, simply specify an effect, "as the spell foo."

I can see arguments both ways -- for an against allowing a save -- but does anyone know -- and can you point me to -- an official rule on the question?
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad

For loe, Wotc commadeth magic item DC must suck


Saving Throws Against Magic Item Powers

Magic items produce spells or spell-like effects. For a saving throw against a spell or spell-like effect from a magic item, the DC is 10 + the level of the spell or effect + the ability modifier of the minimum ability score needed to cast that level of spell.

Staffs are an exception to the rule. Treat the saving throw as if the wielder cast the spell, including caster level and all modifiers to save DC.

Most item descriptions give saving throw DCs for various effects, particularly when the effect has no exact spell equivalent (making its level otherwise difficult to determine quickly).
 

Remove ads

Top