Shadow Darts and Criticals

MatthewJHanson

Registered Ninja
Publisher
There's an Assassin playing in the game I run. He has the the shadow darts power that allows him to make three attack rolls, but it has some funny wording. Unlike twin strike it says "Make three attack rolls. If any of them hit, resolve them as a single hit, and all of them must miss for the attack to miss." (Emphasis mine). Then the number of hits determines the number of damage die.

Last session he got one crit, one regular hit, and one miss. Since the power says to resolve it as a single hit, I maximized all the damage dice, but still determined the number of dice based on how many hit he rolled (2).

Did I make the right call? The other option I thought of was to have one maximized damage die and on rolled as normal.
 

log in or register to remove this ad


I think that is the correct solution, I've done the same thing with my assassin. The way the power reads, etc, i think there is certainly nothing wrong with this solution, and all other possible solutions lack a certain elegance/sensibility.
 

I don't think your decision was unreasonable at all.

The DM in our game ruled the assassin simply can't crit with that particular power unless all three rolls are crits. The ruling might sound draconian, but the power is so good--especially when used to trigger shrouds--that the player didn't complain and most of us were still jealous every time he used it.

Honestly, if there were wording in that power that explicitly stated the power couldn't crit...I'd still take it in a heartbeat because it'd still be terrific.
 

Honestly, if there were wording in that power that explicitly stated the power couldn't crit...I'd still take it in a heartbeat because it'd still be terrific.

'Tis true, Its what i use for the first time i get my shroud count to 4, and I can't think of anything i'd rather have even if it was critless!
 


Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top