Shaman question

sammy

First Post
OK, I admit I am confused on how the spirit companion works.

I know the power you call it with says close burst 20, and that it can move your speed when you move.

Does this mean that I can direct it all over the place, as long as I can see it?

My first read through made me think that it stayed next to me all the time, but that didn't seem right with some of the powers.

Help?

Sammy
 

log in or register to remove this ad

As long as it stays within 20 squares, you can direct it anywhere it can legally end its movement. "Seeing it" is not a pre-requisite to direct its movement, but in order to use most powers relating to the spirit companion, you need LoS.
 

As long as it stays within 20 squares, you can direct it anywhere it can legally end its movement. "Seeing it" is not a pre-requisite to direct its movement, but in order to use most powers relating to the spirit companion, you need LoS.

Actually, if it has "Spirit" (p220) in the range, like Protecting Strike, then LoS is determined using your Spirit as the origin square. In other words, your Spirit can attack someone behind a pillar that you can't see (perhaps you saw him duck back there, and know he's behind the pillar).
 

Actually, if it has "Spirit" (p220) in the range, like Protecting Strike, then LoS is determined using your Spirit as the origin square. In other words, your Spirit can attack someone behind a pillar that you can't see (perhaps you saw him duck back there, and know he's behind the pillar).

I guess I should have said LoS to your spirit companion, but I was trying not to be too verbose, while remaining to the point. Tough to do at times.
 

Actually, don't conjurations end if you don't have LOS to them? And LOS from the spirit, well, what type of vision does the spirit have?
 


Sure, but conjurations don't have vision, right? What happens if you're attacking around a corner, and the enemy is standing outside the light?
 

Sure, but conjurations don't have vision, right? What happens if you're attacking around a corner, and the enemy is standing outside the light?
PH2 pg. 220: "You determine line of sight normally, but you determine line of effect from the conjuration."
That's the general rule. So if this was a Bigby's spell or something, you would be attacking with a -5.
Here's the specific rule (same page): "If a spirit power includes “spirit” in its range, you determine line of sight and line of effect from your spirit companion’s space, which is the power’s origin square."
So shammies get no penalty in this case.
 
Last edited:

Remove ads

Top