Belbarrus
First Post
I have a question regarding monsters that cast spells.
The MM states that a monster that can cast spells follows the same spellcasting rules as characters (p. 9 of MM). So, what about creatures like a Naga (p. 130 of MM)? Nagas can cast spells as 7th level Sorcerers. However, they are merely snakes with human faces and therefore have no hands.
The PH states that to cast spells with somatic components you need at least one hand free. Nagas do not have the Still spell feat. Their description doesnt state anything special about them, nor could I find any special rules in the MM referring to spell-casting creatures with no hands.
Does this mean that Nagas (or creatures with similar limitations) can only cast spells that do *not* have somatic components? This seems pretty limited to me.
Belbarrus
The MM states that a monster that can cast spells follows the same spellcasting rules as characters (p. 9 of MM). So, what about creatures like a Naga (p. 130 of MM)? Nagas can cast spells as 7th level Sorcerers. However, they are merely snakes with human faces and therefore have no hands.
The PH states that to cast spells with somatic components you need at least one hand free. Nagas do not have the Still spell feat. Their description doesnt state anything special about them, nor could I find any special rules in the MM referring to spell-casting creatures with no hands.
Does this mean that Nagas (or creatures with similar limitations) can only cast spells that do *not* have somatic components? This seems pretty limited to me.
Belbarrus