Menu
News
All News
Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
Pathfinder
Starfinder
Warhammer
2d20 System
Year Zero Engine
Industry News
Reviews
Dragon Reflections
White Dwarf Reflections
Columns
Weekly Digests
Weekly News Digest
Freebies, Sales & Bundles
RPG Print News
RPG Crowdfunding News
Game Content
ENterplanetary DimENsions
Mythological Figures
Opinion
Worlds of Design
Peregrine's Nest
RPG Evolution
Other Columns
From the Freelancing Frontline
Monster ENcyclopedia
WotC/TSR Alumni Look Back
4 Hours w/RSD (Ryan Dancey)
The Road to 3E (Jonathan Tweet)
Greenwood's Realms (Ed Greenwood)
Drawmij's TSR (Jim Ward)
Community
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Resources
Wiki
Pages
Latest activity
Media
New media
New comments
Search media
Downloads
Latest reviews
Search resources
EN Publishing
Store
EN5ider
Adventures in ZEITGEIST
Awfully Cheerful Engine
What's OLD is NEW
Judge Dredd & The Worlds Of 2000AD
War of the Burning Sky
Level Up: Advanced 5E
Events & Releases
Upcoming Events
Private Events
Featured Events
Socials!
EN Publishing
Twitter
BlueSky
Facebook
Instagram
EN World
BlueSky
YouTube
Facebook
Twitter
Twitch
Podcast
Features
Top 5 RPGs Compiled Charts 2004-Present
Adventure Game Industry Market Research Summary (RPGs) V1.0
Ryan Dancey: Acquiring TSR
Q&A With Gary Gygax
D&D Rules FAQs
TSR, WotC, & Paizo: A Comparative History
D&D Pronunciation Guide
Million Dollar TTRPG Kickstarters
Tabletop RPG Podcast Hall of Fame
Eric Noah's Unofficial D&D 3rd Edition News
D&D in the Mainstream
D&D & RPG History
About Morrus
Log in
Register
What's new
Search
Search
Search titles only
By:
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Menu
Log in
Register
Install the app
Install
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
Some questions about grappling and improved grab
JavaScript is disabled. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser before proceeding.
You are using an out of date browser. It may not display this or other websites correctly.
You should upgrade or use an
alternative browser
.
Reply to thread
Message
<blockquote data-quote="Gaiden" data-source="post: 380362" data-attributes="member: 103"><p>In the MM under improved grab it states:</p><p></p><p>"The creature ahs the option to conduct the grapple normall, or simply use the part of its body it used in the improved grab to hold the opponent. If it chooses to do the latter, it suffers a -20 penalty to grapple checks, but is not considered grappled itself; the creature does not lose it sDexterity bonus to AC, still threatens an area, and can use its remaining attacks against other opponents."</p><p></p><p>The last paragraph than goes on to say:</p><p></p><p>"When a creature gets a hold after an imporved grab attack, it pulls the opponent into its space. This act does not provoke attacks of opportunity. The creature is not considered grappled while it holds the opponent, so it still threatens adjacent squares and retains its Dexterity bonus. It can even move (possibly carrying away the opponent), provided it can drag the opponent's weight."</p><p></p><p>Do these two excerpts strike anyone else as somehow contradictory?</p><p></p><p>The first statement seems fine (and I believe the sage said that anyone can do this, not just someone with improved grab).</p><p></p><p>The second is what gets me. </p><p></p><p>It first says the opponent is pulled into the space of the creature with improved grab. </p><p></p><p>Ok, fine, so rather than the creature with improved grab moving into the opponent's square, vice-a-versa happens, the opponent moves into the square of the creature with improved grab.</p><p></p><p>It next states that this does not provoke attacks of opportunity. Why? As far as I can tell this is considered movement just like someone who is bullrushed against there will is considered to be undergoing movement. Despite it only being 5' (I think, I guess it could conceivably be more) wouldn't it still provoke an AoO? Or is this an instance, much like snatch, where the rules simply aren't consistent?</p><p></p><p>"<strong>The creature is not considered grappled...</strong>" - HUH?</p><p></p><p>Didn't the description just say that the creature had to take a -20 in order to be considered not grappling? Is this a contradiction or am I missing something (I am being serious, its not the first time I would have missed something totally obvious).</p><p></p><p>Last the description talks about movement while grappling. Up until this point, movement has never been a dynamic of grappling (that I am aware of anyway). The above description would leave me to believe that the creature can make a standard move if it has not already used up it MEA, dragging the opponent along with it. It says so long as the creature can drag the opponent's weight. </p><p></p><p>This seems slightly obscure. What about the character resisting the movement? If you win the grapple check, is this another option then - to take a move at your base speed as a MEA with the only consideration, the amount of weight you can drag? Moreover, does this dragging affect the creature's speed - I presume it does according to the encumberance rules.</p><p></p><p>So a few questions come up - succinctly:</p><p></p><p>Do you have to win an opposed grapple to move with your opponent?</p><p></p><p>If no, what method do you use?</p><p></p><p>If yes, is this the grapple check that includes the -20 penalty?</p><p></p><p>If yes, do you also deal grapple damage or do you require the constrict ability to do this?</p><p></p><p>If yes, how far can you move?</p><p></p><p>If yes, does this movement provoke AoO normally (would the opponent also be provoking AoO by his movement despite it being involuntary - again refer to bullrush analogy).</p><p></p><p>Would this movement ability with a winning opposed grapple apply to any creature? In other words, do you need the improved grab ability to utilize this grappling ability? I only ask because the -20 rule was extended to creatures without improved grab.</p></blockquote><p></p>
[QUOTE="Gaiden, post: 380362, member: 103"] In the MM under improved grab it states: "The creature ahs the option to conduct the grapple normall, or simply use the part of its body it used in the improved grab to hold the opponent. If it chooses to do the latter, it suffers a -20 penalty to grapple checks, but is not considered grappled itself; the creature does not lose it sDexterity bonus to AC, still threatens an area, and can use its remaining attacks against other opponents." The last paragraph than goes on to say: "When a creature gets a hold after an imporved grab attack, it pulls the opponent into its space. This act does not provoke attacks of opportunity. The creature is not considered grappled while it holds the opponent, so it still threatens adjacent squares and retains its Dexterity bonus. It can even move (possibly carrying away the opponent), provided it can drag the opponent's weight." Do these two excerpts strike anyone else as somehow contradictory? The first statement seems fine (and I believe the sage said that anyone can do this, not just someone with improved grab). The second is what gets me. It first says the opponent is pulled into the space of the creature with improved grab. Ok, fine, so rather than the creature with improved grab moving into the opponent's square, vice-a-versa happens, the opponent moves into the square of the creature with improved grab. It next states that this does not provoke attacks of opportunity. Why? As far as I can tell this is considered movement just like someone who is bullrushed against there will is considered to be undergoing movement. Despite it only being 5' (I think, I guess it could conceivably be more) wouldn't it still provoke an AoO? Or is this an instance, much like snatch, where the rules simply aren't consistent? "[B]The creature is not considered grappled...[/B]" - HUH? Didn't the description just say that the creature had to take a -20 in order to be considered not grappling? Is this a contradiction or am I missing something (I am being serious, its not the first time I would have missed something totally obvious). Last the description talks about movement while grappling. Up until this point, movement has never been a dynamic of grappling (that I am aware of anyway). The above description would leave me to believe that the creature can make a standard move if it has not already used up it MEA, dragging the opponent along with it. It says so long as the creature can drag the opponent's weight. This seems slightly obscure. What about the character resisting the movement? If you win the grapple check, is this another option then - to take a move at your base speed as a MEA with the only consideration, the amount of weight you can drag? Moreover, does this dragging affect the creature's speed - I presume it does according to the encumberance rules. So a few questions come up - succinctly: Do you have to win an opposed grapple to move with your opponent? If no, what method do you use? If yes, is this the grapple check that includes the -20 penalty? If yes, do you also deal grapple damage or do you require the constrict ability to do this? If yes, how far can you move? If yes, does this movement provoke AoO normally (would the opponent also be provoking AoO by his movement despite it being involuntary - again refer to bullrush analogy). Would this movement ability with a winning opposed grapple apply to any creature? In other words, do you need the improved grab ability to utilize this grappling ability? I only ask because the -20 rule was extended to creatures without improved grab. [/QUOTE]
Insert quotes…
Verification
Post reply
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
Some questions about grappling and improved grab
Top