Something "Shifty" Going On (Spoiler Warning!!!)

Alvoros

First Post
Certain Kobolds (D) have the ability (Dragonshield Tactics) to shift 1 square at will when an adjacent enemy shifts away or "an enemy moves adjacent "

What has been happening in our game is this:

If a PC CHARGES the shifty little devil, I have the kobold interupt the charge just before the swing occurs, and then shift one square away, therefore spoiling the charge.

If a PC MOVES up to the shifty guy, I have the kobold shift one square away, but then let the PC FINISH their move if they choose, depending on the creature locations.

Is this the correct way to play these guys/actions based on what we know of the rules at this point?

Alvoros
 

log in or register to remove this ad

There's a another long thread already... but in short--no. That would an 'immediate interrupt'. Dragonshield tactics are an 'immediate reaction' meaning they happen AFTER the triggering action completes. In the case of a shift or move the pc moves to final location. In the case of a charge, the charge completes meaning the charging pc makes their attack. THEN the kobold can shift.
 

pinbot said:
There's a another long thread already... but in short--no. That would an 'immediate interrupt'. Dragonshield tactics are an 'immediate reaction' meaning they happen AFTER the triggering action completes. In the case of a shift or move the pc moves to final location. In the case of a charge, the charge completes meaning the charging pc makes their attack. THEN the kobold can shift.

According to Logan Bonner (WotC guy), this is incorrect too. By action, they do not mean standard/move/minor. They mean the circumstances of the situation. So in the case of the DS if a PC was 3 squares away and moved in, the DS would shift, then the PC could finish moving. I have pasted an email from Logan on another thread.
 
Last edited:

pinbot said:
There's a another long thread already... but in short--no. That would an 'immediate interrupt'. Dragonshield tactics are an 'immediate reaction' meaning they happen AFTER the triggering action completes. In the case of a shift or move the pc moves to final location. In the case of a charge, the charge completes meaning the charging pc makes their attack. THEN the kobold can shift.

Sorry for the repeat topic....but is there a search function for the forums here? I must be blind, but I cannot find a search function.

Alvo
 

Alvoros said:
Sorry for the repeat topic....but is there a search function for the forums here? I must be blind, but I cannot find a search function.

Alvo

I believe the answer is no unless you are a full member. I'm not a full member, so I could be wrong. ;)
 

Here is the email from the other thread:

OK, so I emailed Logan at WotC to get some sort of ruling on this...

Here is my email and here is his response:

I *think* you treat each square of movement separately, so option 1 would be
correct.


On 5/25/08 11:23 AM, "Mark Nagel" <mark.nagel@eswilliams.com> wrote:

> There has been quite a bit of discussion regarding this ability and how
> exactly it interacts with immediate reactions. Immediate reactions state that
> they don't interrupt the action and they must resolve. So which of these two
> would be correct.
>
> Option 1 - PC is 3 squares away from Dragonshield and moves towards him. Once
> the PC gets adjacent the DS shifts 1 square away but the PC still has movement
> so he moves 1 more square then attacks.
>
> Option 2 - Same set up but the PC moves adjacent to the DS not intending to
> move anymore so his move action is done. The DS shifts and now the PC is 1
> square away with a standard action left. He could then turn it into a move
> action and get close (giving up an attack) or attack with a range
> weapon/power.
>
> I think the issue is that people are unsure of "The triggering action is
> completely resolved before you take your reaction" to mean the action as in
> standard/move/minor or action as in, finish moving adjacent, then DS shifts and
> then finish your movement.

So, unless I see any other official clarification, I would say that is as official as it gets right now!
 

Markn said:
According to Logan Bonner (WotC guy), this is incorrect too. By action, they do not mean standard/move/minor. They mean the circumstances of the situation. So in the case of the DS if a PC was 3 squares away and moved in, the DS would shift, then the PC could finish moving. I have pasted an email from Logan on another thread.


Oh yuck... so 'action' does not mean 'action'? This gives me a very bad feeling...

(edit) But now having read the original (thanks for tracking it down!) I take encouragement from his "I *think*..." (emphasis his). I'm earnestly hoping he's wrong. Misusing defined terms would really be terrible precedent to set. And anyway, saying the kobolds can only actually avoid people if they happen to be at the limit of their movement--that's _seriously_ limiting the utility of their schtick.
 
Last edited:

Alvoros said:
Sorry for the repeat topic....but is there a search function for the forums here? I must be blind, but I cannot find a search function.

Alvo

No prob, I was just saying 'if my hastly [and apparently incorrect] reply doesn't satisfy, there's more to be found"
 

pinbot said:
Oh yuck... so 'action' does not mean 'action'? This gives me a very bad feeling...

FWIW, he didn't sound 100% sure. In some ways, this will be easier. It's just not clear in their intent. I can see this being one of the first major FAQ questions!
 

pinbot said:
Oh yuck... so 'action' does not mean 'action'? This gives me a very bad feeling...

One thing to note is the dragonshield's ability never mentions a move action, it just mentions movement. That could include forced movement.
 

Remove ads

Top