Speak With Dead: what does "subject to" mean?

allenw

Explorer
Per the SRD and the PHB, both 3.0 and 3.5, Speak With Dead (see below) fails if "the corpse has been subject to speak with dead within the past week."
Does this just mean that the same corpse can't be talked to (by anyone)more than once within one week, or does it *also* mean that you can't talk to a corpse if it *made* its save vs. Speak With Dead within the past week? For example, if you've got 2 Speak With Dead spells prepped and a corpse makes its save against the first one, can you try again without waiting a week?
Thanks.

From the SRD:
Speak with Dead
Necromancy [Language-Dependent]

Level: Clr 3

Components: V, S, DF

Casting Time: 10 minutes

Range: 10 ft.

Target: One dead creature

Duration: 1 min./level

Saving Throw: Will negates; see text

Spell Resistance: No

You grant the semblance of life and intellect to a corpse, allowing it to answer several questions that you put to it. You may ask one question per two caster levels. Unasked questions are wasted if the duration expires. The corpse’s knowledge is limited to what the creature knew during life, including the languages it spoke (if any). Answers are usually brief, cryptic, or repetitive. If the creature’s alignment was different from yours, the corpse gets a Will save to resist the spell as if it were alive.

If the corpse has been subject to speak with dead within the past week, the new spell fails. You can cast this spell on a corpse that has been deceased for any amount of time, but the body must be mostly intact to be able to respond. A damaged corpse may be able to give partial answers or partially correct answers, but it must at least have a mouth in order to speak at all.

This spell does not let you actually speak to the person (whose soul has departed). It instead draws on the imprinted knowledge stored in the corpse. The partially animated body retains the imprint of the soul that once inhabited it, and thus it can speak with all the knowledge that the creature had while alive. The corpse, however, cannot learn new information.

Indeed, it can’t even remember being questioned.

This spell does not affect a corpse that has been turned into an undead creature.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

It means that if anyone has cast the spell on the corpse within the last week, you can't speak to it, regardless of whether it made it's save or not.
 
Last edited:





Scion said:
Crazy corpses and their crazy will save.. ;)
Tell me about it. A couple sessions ago the party had to cast speak with dead on the paladin's corpse and were bemoaning the fact that he has a great will save. Luckily, with the combination of me ruling that the corpse doesn't benefit from his magical items and the player rolling low, it worked out :)
 

shilsen said:
Tell me about it. A couple sessions ago the party had to cast speak with dead on the paladin's corpse and were bemoaning the fact that he has a great will save. Luckily, with the combination of me ruling that the corpse doesn't benefit from his magical items and the player rolling low, it worked out :)

That is great! paladins are nearly immune to speak with dead! ;)
 

Remove ads

Top