Menu
News
All News
Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
Pathfinder
Starfinder
Warhammer
2d20 System
Year Zero Engine
Industry News
Reviews
Dragon Reflections
White Dwarf Reflections
Columns
Weekly Digests
Weekly News Digest
Freebies, Sales & Bundles
RPG Print News
RPG Crowdfunding News
Game Content
ENterplanetary DimENsions
Mythological Figures
Opinion
Worlds of Design
Peregrine's Nest
RPG Evolution
Other Columns
From the Freelancing Frontline
Monster ENcyclopedia
WotC/TSR Alumni Look Back
4 Hours w/RSD (Ryan Dancey)
The Road to 3E (Jonathan Tweet)
Greenwood's Realms (Ed Greenwood)
Drawmij's TSR (Jim Ward)
Community
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Resources
Wiki
Pages
Latest activity
Media
New media
New comments
Search media
Downloads
Latest reviews
Search resources
EN Publishing
Store
EN5ider
Adventures in ZEITGEIST
Awfully Cheerful Engine
What's OLD is NEW
Judge Dredd & The Worlds Of 2000AD
War of the Burning Sky
Level Up: Advanced 5E
Events & Releases
Upcoming Events
Private Events
Featured Events
Socials!
EN Publishing
Twitter
BlueSky
Facebook
Instagram
EN World
BlueSky
YouTube
Facebook
Twitter
Twitch
Podcast
Features
Top 5 RPGs Compiled Charts 2004-Present
Adventure Game Industry Market Research Summary (RPGs) V1.0
Ryan Dancey: Acquiring TSR
Q&A With Gary Gygax
D&D Rules FAQs
TSR, WotC, & Paizo: A Comparative History
D&D Pronunciation Guide
Million Dollar TTRPG Kickstarters
Tabletop RPG Podcast Hall of Fame
Eric Noah's Unofficial D&D 3rd Edition News
D&D in the Mainstream
D&D & RPG History
About Morrus
Log in
Register
What's new
Search
Search
Search titles only
By:
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Menu
Log in
Register
Install the app
Install
Upgrade your account to a Community Supporter account and remove most of the site ads.
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Dungeons & Dragons
Spell -> Counterspell -> Counterspell (from same character that casts 1st spell) - possible?
JavaScript is disabled. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser before proceeding.
You are using an out of date browser. It may not display this or other websites correctly.
You should upgrade or use an
alternative browser
.
Reply to thread
Message
<blockquote data-quote="lkwpeter" data-source="post: 7199174" data-attributes="member: 6804713"><p>Hey,</p><p></p><p>okay, so here we go:</p><p></p><p><strong>NPC</strong>: Casts a spell as an action.</p><p><strong>Character</strong>: Casts <em>Counterspell</em> as a reaction.</p><p><strong>NPC</strong>: Casts <em>Counterspell </em>as a reaction.</p><p></p><p>Let's have a look at the PHB:</p><p></p><p><strong>Page 202:</strong> <em>"You can't cast another spell during the same turn, except for a cantrip."</em></p><p><em></em></p><p>So, whether casting a <em>Counterspell </em>in addition to another spell is possible or not seems to depends on the following questions</p><p></p><ol> <li data-xf-list-type="ol"><strong>Is <em>Counterspell </em>cast during <u>your own</u> or <u>someone else's</u> turn?</strong></li> <li data-xf-list-type="ol"><strong>Does NPC cast Counterspell within <u>one</u> or <u>two</u> turns?</strong></li> </ol><p></p><p></p><p><strong>1.)</strong></p><p>Because the description of Counterspell doesn't say that you interrupt your opponent, I am quite sure that <strong>it's your own turn</strong> casting Counterspell. This is the contrary to the description of the Opportunity Attack that explicitly mentions that.</p><p></p><p><strong>Page 195:</strong> <strong>Opportunity Attack: </strong><em>"The atlack interrupts the provoking creature's movement, occurring right before the creature leaves your reach."</em></p><p><em></em></p><p></p><p><strong>2.)</strong></p><p>So, because of the fact that you don't interrupt you opponent, Counterspell is casted on the creatures <u>own</u> turn. Furthermore, if the initial caster (NPC) tries to counterspell the Counterspell (of Character), he does this <strong>not on it's inital turn, but his <u>next</u></strong> <strong>turn</strong>.</p><p></p><p><em><strong>Turn 1 NPC -> Turn Character -> Turn 2 NPC</strong></em></p><p><em><strong></strong></em></p><p><em><strong></strong></em></p><p><em><strong></strong></em><strong>In conclusion my unterstanding is:</strong></p><p></p><p>NPC: Casts a spell [OWN turn].</p><p>Character: Casts Counterspell [OWN turn -> because no Opportunity Attack -> no interrupting]</p><p>NPC: Casts Counterspell [<strong><u>2nd</u> OWN TURN</strong>]</p><p></p><p>So, there is no restriction of casting two spells (initial spell + Counterspell), because it's not with in one, but two turns. So yes, it's possible to counterspell a Counterspell.</p><p></p><p></p><p>What do you think? Am I right?</p><p></p><p>Regards</p></blockquote><p></p>
[QUOTE="lkwpeter, post: 7199174, member: 6804713"] Hey, okay, so here we go: [B]NPC[/B]: Casts a spell as an action. [B]Character[/B]: Casts [I]Counterspell[/I] as a reaction. [B]NPC[/B]: Casts [I]Counterspell [/I]as a reaction. Let's have a look at the PHB: [B]Page 202:[/B] [I]"You can't cast another spell during the same turn, except for a cantrip." [/I] So, whether casting a [I]Counterspell [/I]in addition to another spell is possible or not seems to depends on the following questions [LIST=1] [*][B]Is [I]Counterspell [/I]cast during [U]your own[/U] or [U]someone else's[/U] turn?[/B] [*][B]Does NPC cast Counterspell within [U]one[/U] or [U]two[/U] turns?[/B] [/LIST] [B]1.)[/B] Because the description of Counterspell doesn't say that you interrupt your opponent, I am quite sure that [B]it's your own turn[/B] casting Counterspell. This is the contrary to the description of the Opportunity Attack that explicitly mentions that. [B]Page 195:[/B] [B]Opportunity Attack: [/B][I]"The atlack interrupts the provoking creature's movement, occurring right before the creature leaves your reach." [/I] [B]2.)[/B] So, because of the fact that you don't interrupt you opponent, Counterspell is casted on the creatures [U]own[/U] turn. Furthermore, if the initial caster (NPC) tries to counterspell the Counterspell (of Character), he does this [B]not on it's inital turn, but his [U]next[/U][/B] [B]turn[/B]. [I][B]Turn 1 NPC -> Turn Character -> Turn 2 NPC [/B][/I][B]In conclusion my unterstanding is:[/B] NPC: Casts a spell [OWN turn]. Character: Casts Counterspell [OWN turn -> because no Opportunity Attack -> no interrupting] NPC: Casts Counterspell [[B][U]2nd[/U] OWN TURN[/B]] So, there is no restriction of casting two spells (initial spell + Counterspell), because it's not with in one, but two turns. So yes, it's possible to counterspell a Counterspell. What do you think? Am I right? Regards [/QUOTE]
Insert quotes…
Verification
Post reply
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Dungeons & Dragons
Spell -> Counterspell -> Counterspell (from same character that casts 1st spell) - possible?
Top