Menu
News
All News
Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
Pathfinder
Starfinder
Warhammer
2d20 System
Year Zero Engine
Industry News
Reviews
Dragon Reflections
White Dwarf Reflections
Columns
Weekly Digests
Weekly News Digest
Freebies, Sales & Bundles
RPG Print News
RPG Crowdfunding News
Game Content
ENterplanetary DimENsions
Mythological Figures
Opinion
Worlds of Design
Peregrine's Nest
RPG Evolution
Other Columns
From the Freelancing Frontline
Monster ENcyclopedia
WotC/TSR Alumni Look Back
4 Hours w/RSD (Ryan Dancey)
The Road to 3E (Jonathan Tweet)
Greenwood's Realms (Ed Greenwood)
Drawmij's TSR (Jim Ward)
Community
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Resources
Wiki
Pages
Latest activity
Media
New media
New comments
Search media
Downloads
Latest reviews
Search resources
EN Publishing
Store
EN5ider
Adventures in ZEITGEIST
Awfully Cheerful Engine
What's OLD is NEW
Judge Dredd & The Worlds Of 2000AD
War of the Burning Sky
Level Up: Advanced 5E
Events & Releases
Upcoming Events
Private Events
Featured Events
Socials!
EN Publishing
Twitter
BlueSky
Facebook
Instagram
EN World
BlueSky
YouTube
Facebook
Twitter
Twitch
Podcast
Features
Top 5 RPGs Compiled Charts 2004-Present
Adventure Game Industry Market Research Summary (RPGs) V1.0
Ryan Dancey: Acquiring TSR
Q&A With Gary Gygax
D&D Rules FAQs
TSR, WotC, & Paizo: A Comparative History
D&D Pronunciation Guide
Million Dollar TTRPG Kickstarters
Tabletop RPG Podcast Hall of Fame
Eric Noah's Unofficial D&D 3rd Edition News
D&D in the Mainstream
D&D & RPG History
About Morrus
Log in
Register
What's new
Search
Search
Search titles only
By:
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Menu
Log in
Register
Install the app
Install
Upgrade your account to a Community Supporter account and remove most of the site ads.
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
Spell question: Speak with Dead
JavaScript is disabled. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser before proceeding.
You are using an out of date browser. It may not display this or other websites correctly.
You should upgrade or use an
alternative browser
.
Reply to thread
Message
<blockquote data-quote="Raven Crowking" data-source="post: 1732374" data-attributes="member: 18280"><p>(Shrug) Obviously, you can go with either the summation data, or the details of the spell. I, for one, would not expect the summation data to make fine distinctions. That would appear in the detailed description. Or so I would assume. Maybe it's just me.</p><p></p><p>This is no different from having a spell target "creature touched" and then specify in its description that the spell does not affect oozes. One would not claim that it affects oozes because it does not exclude them in the summary data. Moreover, the description may include targets or effects that are not listed in the summary data, as we all know.</p><p></p><p>RC</p><p></p><p></p><p>EDIT:</p><p></p><p><em>Animate objects</em> has its target as "Objects or matter, 1 cu. ft./level" and it has no save. Does this mean that I can use it to control Bob the Necromancer? No, because in the descriptive text it says "You imbue inanimate objects wioth mobility and a semblance of life."</p><p></p><p><em>Awaken</em> has its target as "Animal or tree touched." Can I use it to awaken a non-tree plant? I would say yes, because the descriptive text, "Awakened plants gain the ability to move through their limbs, roots, vines, creepers, etc., and have senses similar to a human's," implies non-tree plants as well (trees do not have vines and creepers which are actually part of themselves).</p><p></p><p><em>Bless water</em> has its target as "Flask of water touched." Does the water have to be in a flask? I would say no, because the quantity a flask represents (1 pint) is listed in the descriptive text.</p><p></p><p>The "targets" section of <em>calm animals</em> doesn't specify whether or not the creatures calmed have to be all the same species. The descriptive text does. Do the creatures all have to be one species?</p><p></p><p>The desriptive text of chain lightning states specifically "You can choose to affect fewer secondary targets than the maximum (to avoid allies in the area, for example)." </p><p></p><p>Doesn't the descriptive text, <em><strong>where it adds more detail</strong></em>, trump the summary data? </p><p></p><p>Is there any doubt whatsoever that this is the case with <em>animate dead</em>?</p><p></p><p>Weren't you fully aware of this when you posted your question?</p><p></p><p>RC</p></blockquote><p></p>
[QUOTE="Raven Crowking, post: 1732374, member: 18280"] (Shrug) Obviously, you can go with either the summation data, or the details of the spell. I, for one, would not expect the summation data to make fine distinctions. That would appear in the detailed description. Or so I would assume. Maybe it's just me. This is no different from having a spell target "creature touched" and then specify in its description that the spell does not affect oozes. One would not claim that it affects oozes because it does not exclude them in the summary data. Moreover, the description may include targets or effects that are not listed in the summary data, as we all know. RC EDIT: [I]Animate objects[/I] has its target as "Objects or matter, 1 cu. ft./level" and it has no save. Does this mean that I can use it to control Bob the Necromancer? No, because in the descriptive text it says "You imbue inanimate objects wioth mobility and a semblance of life." [I]Awaken[/I] has its target as "Animal or tree touched." Can I use it to awaken a non-tree plant? I would say yes, because the descriptive text, "Awakened plants gain the ability to move through their limbs, roots, vines, creepers, etc., and have senses similar to a human's," implies non-tree plants as well (trees do not have vines and creepers which are actually part of themselves). [I]Bless water[/I] has its target as "Flask of water touched." Does the water have to be in a flask? I would say no, because the quantity a flask represents (1 pint) is listed in the descriptive text. The "targets" section of [I]calm animals[/I] doesn't specify whether or not the creatures calmed have to be all the same species. The descriptive text does. Do the creatures all have to be one species? The desriptive text of chain lightning states specifically "You can choose to affect fewer secondary targets than the maximum (to avoid allies in the area, for example)." Doesn't the descriptive text, [I][B]where it adds more detail[/B][/I], trump the summary data? Is there any doubt whatsoever that this is the case with [I]animate dead[/I]? Weren't you fully aware of this when you posted your question? RC [/QUOTE]
Insert quotes…
Verification
Post reply
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
Spell question: Speak with Dead
Top