Spell Storing Question

All,

I have been looking around for a concise rule concerning caster level of spells stored in a Spell Sstoring item. I could have missed it, but I only found mention of the "equal to the minimum level needed to cast the spell" rule under the Minor Ring of Spell Storing.

Is there a flat-out rule for all Spell Storing items and, if so, where would I find it?

Thanks!
 

log in or register to remove this ad

There sure isn't. Imbue with Spell Ability, for example, doesn't work that way.

Unless it says otherwise, a spell will be stored at the level it is cast at. Even the Minor Ring of Spell Storing is questionable - as it retains the same language as the 3rd edition version which was ruled alternately to either have all randomly generated spells already in the ring at a minimum caster level or to set all spells cast into it to the minimum caster level by the Sage.

Personally I've always been in favor of the interpretation which did not adjust the caster level - as there are a number of ways (including metamagic rods) to really play havoc with game balance if the caster level changes.

-Frank
 

I have a character with a spell storing warhammer. I have always used minimum caster level for it, since the ring works that way. There is nothing in the description of the ability that specifies minimum caster level, though. I doubt it would be too game breaking to allow the spell to function at the caster level of the spellcaster that placed the spell into the weapon.
 

All of the spell storing items except weapons refer back to the minor ring of spell storing which has the caster level quote you referenced.

I can't find a general reference to spell storing.

IMC we use the caster level of the caster that stored the spell unless it is a randomly generated item in which case we use the minimum caster level.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top