Spell Storing.

Joker

First Post
Besides balance, what is the rationale for having spells cast from items of spell storing cast at the minimum caster level?

Assume that someone in your party has put a spell in it.
 

log in or register to remove this ad


Joker said:
Besides balance, what is the rationale for having spells cast from items of spell storing cast at the minimum caster level?
Balance and more balance. Did you actually want a reason or were you hoping to find people who dislike this?

The DM can make the in game 'rationale' fit the campaign. "The minimum level to cast represents what the forces of magic themselves dedicate to the spell, the rest the Caster applies to the spell at the moment the spell is cast. If the spell is stored, that critical moment does not exist. Other items can hold more energy, though comparative costs must be paid to do so."
 

I would like a reason. I don't dislike it at all. But I have this idea in my head that the spell is cast at a certain caster level by someone and is stored that way aswel.

I'm just looking for a good rationale.
 

Joker said:
I would like a reason. I don't dislike it at all. But I have this idea in my head that the spell is cast at a certain caster level by someone and is stored that way aswel.

I'm just looking for a good rationale.
Think of it similarly to a scroll (or wand, etc.). A spell stored in a scroll (or wand, etc.) is always at the minimum level (regardless of what level the caster actually was when he cast it into it) unless the caster takes special pains otherwise. This is the same for just about everything, and is and underlying precedent for D&D.

I'm sure this was done for play balance reasons but it makes sense (i.e. "conservation of energy", and/or viewing the device as a battery that can only be charged up so much).
 

Unlike a Ring of Spell Storing, a Spell Storing weapon does not cast its spell at minimum caster level. Spell Storing weapons are listed as having "CL 12th" in the ability description (DMG 225), and in the rules governing caster level for weapons (DMG 221) and in the rules describing the "stat block" for magic items (DMG 215).

Your DM may want to modify this in your campaign for balance reasons, but you should check out those rules before making a change.
 

The more interesting question is not what the caster level is, but what is the difficulty class of the saving throw (if required)?

Our group had a wand of 6HD fireballs created by our party wizard. The party wizard palmed it off on the UMD enabled rogue to use as a back up once our party level had progressed some (now 14th level). We ruled that the Reflex DC was the same as it would have been had the wizard cast it at the time he made the wand (ie more than minimum Int bonus).
 

kjenks said:
Unlike a Ring of Spell Storing, a Spell Storing weapon does not cast its spell at minimum caster level. Spell Storing weapons are listed as having "CL 12th" in the ability description (DMG 225), and in the rules governing caster level for weapons (DMG 221) and in the rules describing the "stat block" for magic items (DMG 215).
While that is a possible (literal) interpretation, it's been discussed before and it does not seem to be the writer's intent.
 

Legildur said:
The more interesting question is not what the caster level is, but what is the difficulty class of the saving throw (if required)?

It's not really at all unclear; it uses the minimum ability score required to cast the spell.

For a wand of fireballs, it's a DC of 14 - 10, + spell level (3) + ability modifier for 13 (+1), whether the creator has an Int of 13 or 33.

Magic items produce spells or spell-like effects. For a saving throw against a spell or spell-like effect from a magic item, the DC is 10 + the level of the spell or effect + the ability modifier of the minimum ability score needed to cast that level of spell.

Staffs are an exception to the rule. Treat the saving throw as if the wielder cast the spell, including caster level and all modifiers to save DC.


The Ring of Spell Storing is not a staff, so the saving throw DC against the spell is 10 + the level of the spell or effect + the ability modifier of the minimum ability score needed to cast that level of spell.

-Hyp.
 

mvincent said:
While that is a possible (literal) interpretation, it's been discussed before and it does not seem to be the writer's intent.

How does one judge the writer's intent when, unlike other items that store spells, the weapon ability makes no mention of special rules to determine the caster level of the spell it casts?

-Hyp.
 

Remove ads

Top