Menu
News
All News
Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
Pathfinder
Starfinder
Warhammer
2d20 System
Year Zero Engine
Industry News
Reviews
Dragon Reflections
White Dwarf Reflections
Columns
Weekly Digests
Weekly News Digest
Freebies, Sales & Bundles
RPG Print News
RPG Crowdfunding News
Game Content
ENterplanetary DimENsions
Mythological Figures
Opinion
Worlds of Design
Peregrine's Nest
RPG Evolution
Other Columns
From the Freelancing Frontline
Monster ENcyclopedia
WotC/TSR Alumni Look Back
4 Hours w/RSD (Ryan Dancey)
The Road to 3E (Jonathan Tweet)
Greenwood's Realms (Ed Greenwood)
Drawmij's TSR (Jim Ward)
Community
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Resources
Wiki
Pages
Latest activity
Media
New media
New comments
Search media
Downloads
Latest reviews
Search resources
EN Publishing
Store
EN5ider
Adventures in ZEITGEIST
Awfully Cheerful Engine
What's OLD is NEW
Judge Dredd & The Worlds Of 2000AD
War of the Burning Sky
Level Up: Advanced 5E
Events & Releases
Upcoming Events
Private Events
Featured Events
Socials!
EN Publishing
Twitter
BlueSky
Facebook
Instagram
EN World
BlueSky
YouTube
Facebook
Twitter
Twitch
Podcast
Features
Top 5 RPGs Compiled Charts 2004-Present
Adventure Game Industry Market Research Summary (RPGs) V1.0
Ryan Dancey: Acquiring TSR
Q&A With Gary Gygax
D&D Rules FAQs
TSR, WotC, & Paizo: A Comparative History
D&D Pronunciation Guide
Million Dollar TTRPG Kickstarters
Tabletop RPG Podcast Hall of Fame
Eric Noah's Unofficial D&D 3rd Edition News
D&D in the Mainstream
D&D & RPG History
About Morrus
Log in
Register
What's new
Search
Search
Search titles only
By:
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Menu
Log in
Register
Install the app
Install
Upgrade your account to a Community Supporter account and remove most of the site ads.
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
Spell/weapon clarification
JavaScript is disabled. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser before proceeding.
You are using an out of date browser. It may not display this or other websites correctly.
You should upgrade or use an
alternative browser
.
Reply to thread
Message
<blockquote data-quote="Hypersmurf" data-source="post: 3258821" data-attributes="member: 1656"><p>Actually, ranged attacks don't provoke AoOs.</p><p></p><p>The Attack (Ranged) standard action provokes an AoO (PHB p141), but you're not making your ranged attack as part of the Attack (Ranged) standard action; you're making it as part of the Cast A Spell standard action. Attacking with a ranged weapon also provokes an AoO (PHB p137)... which is why shooting a bow provokes an AoO even as part of a Full Attack action. Since the Full Attack action does not provoke an AoO and the bowshot is not part of an Attack (Ranged) standard action, if it were not for the note on p137, the bowshot would not provoke.</p><p></p><p>So <em>if the ray is considered an attack with a ranged weapon</em>, it provokes an AoO for that reason. If it is not, it does not.</p><p></p><p>Consider someone making a disarm attempt against an adjacent target with a whip. He provokes only one AoO, but for two reasons - he is disarming, and he is attacking with a whip. If he has the Improved Disarm feat, he does not provoke an AoO for disarming, but the AoO is still provoked, because he's still attacking with a whip... and the Improved Disarm feat doesn't help him there.</p><p></p><p>Similarly, casting defensively prevents the AoO for casting a spell. But if the action also involves an attack with a ranged weapon, an AoO is still provoked.</p><p></p><p>Now, I don't consider an attack with even a weaponlike spell to be 'an attack with a ranged weapon' in this context... but it's a point to consider.</p><p></p><p>(In addition, if a DM <em>does</em> consider it to be an attack with a ranged weapon, it's conceivable two separate AoOs might be provoked... because the casting AoO is provoked when the caster <em>begins</em> casting the spell, and until that AoO is resolved, it is not possible for the casting to be completed... and the attack does not occur until the casting is completed, so that provocation necessarily occurs subsequent to the first one...)</p><p></p><p>-Hyp.</p></blockquote><p></p>
[QUOTE="Hypersmurf, post: 3258821, member: 1656"] Actually, ranged attacks don't provoke AoOs. The Attack (Ranged) standard action provokes an AoO (PHB p141), but you're not making your ranged attack as part of the Attack (Ranged) standard action; you're making it as part of the Cast A Spell standard action. Attacking with a ranged weapon also provokes an AoO (PHB p137)... which is why shooting a bow provokes an AoO even as part of a Full Attack action. Since the Full Attack action does not provoke an AoO and the bowshot is not part of an Attack (Ranged) standard action, if it were not for the note on p137, the bowshot would not provoke. So [i]if the ray is considered an attack with a ranged weapon[/i], it provokes an AoO for that reason. If it is not, it does not. Consider someone making a disarm attempt against an adjacent target with a whip. He provokes only one AoO, but for two reasons - he is disarming, and he is attacking with a whip. If he has the Improved Disarm feat, he does not provoke an AoO for disarming, but the AoO is still provoked, because he's still attacking with a whip... and the Improved Disarm feat doesn't help him there. Similarly, casting defensively prevents the AoO for casting a spell. But if the action also involves an attack with a ranged weapon, an AoO is still provoked. Now, I don't consider an attack with even a weaponlike spell to be 'an attack with a ranged weapon' in this context... but it's a point to consider. (In addition, if a DM [i]does[/i] consider it to be an attack with a ranged weapon, it's conceivable two separate AoOs might be provoked... because the casting AoO is provoked when the caster [i]begins[/i] casting the spell, and until that AoO is resolved, it is not possible for the casting to be completed... and the attack does not occur until the casting is completed, so that provocation necessarily occurs subsequent to the first one...) -Hyp. [/QUOTE]
Insert quotes…
Verification
Post reply
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
Spell/weapon clarification
Top