Spontaneous Casting

Thaumaturge

Wandering. Not lost. (He/they)
I was at a con this weekend, and the judges there insisted that it takes a full round action to spontaneously cast cure spells. I can't find anywhere that says yeah or neigh to this. If someone could both let me know the rule on this and point me to an official statement that I can print out I would be very greatful.



Thaumaturge.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

it takes a full round action to spontaneously cast METAMAGICED cure spells. I think this is on the same page as metamagiced sorcerer spells, 78 or somesuch.
 

Thaumaturge said:
I was at a con this weekend, and the judges there insisted that it takes a full round action to spontaneously cast cure spells. I can't find anywhere that says yeah or neigh to this. If someone could both let me know the rule on this and point me to an official statement that I can print out I would be very greatful.



Thaumaturge.

The PHB states:

"The cleric can “lose” a prepared spell in order to cast any cure spell of the same level or lower (a cure spell is any spell with “cure” in its name). For example, a good cleric who has prepared command (a 1st-level spell) may lose command in order to cast cure light wounds (also a 1st-level spell)."

The casting time for any "cure" spell is 1 action. And there is nothing in the FAQ that says otherwise.
 

I was at a con this weekend, and the judges there insisted that it takes a full round action to spontaneously cast cure spells.

We played that way, thinking that was the rule. Then we bothered to look it up and realized that no where did it say it was a full-round action for a Cleric to do that. Just the regular 1 action as normal.
 

This is odd: I was convinced of the very same thing some time ago. There has to be a subliminal message in the PHB somewhere;)
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top