Stupid overrun question


log in or register to remove this ad

Besides the fact that the rules say you can't? :)

Some people house rule it otherwise, but I think the general idea is that a charge is an attack at the end of the 'run'. Overrun, by definition, cannot work that way. Think of it thematically, too. What would you do different on a charging overrun that you would not do on a regular overrun? Aren't they both pretty much the same thing, or is charging just a little more reckless?
 

Meatpuppet said:
I was just wondering,

Why is it not possible to overrun as part of a charge?
Because wotc decided in 3.5, allies blocked charging.

When you overrun, the target of the overrun could elect to let you by, thus a charging character could use his one overrun attempt per charge to get around an ally.

Rather than address that multiplying damage was a Bad Idea with things like Spirited Charge and Power Attack's new 2 for 1 with two handed weapons, wotc tried to reduce how often one could charge. :\


3.0 Charge [Full][AoO: No]

Description: The character must move before attacking, not after. The character must move at least 10 feet and may move up to double base speed. All movement must be in a straight line, with no backing up allowed. The charge stops as soon as the character threatens the target. A character can't run past the target and attack from another direction.

After moving, the character may make a single melee attack or a bull rush. The character gets a +2 bonus on the attack roll. The character also suffers a -2 penalty to AC for 1 round.

3.5 Charge
Charging is a special full-round action that allows you to move up to twice your speed and attack during the action. However, it carries tight restrictions on how you can move.

Movement During a Charge
You must move before your attack, not after. You must move at least 10 feet (2 squares) and may move up to double your speed directly toward the designated opponent.

You must have a clear path toward the opponent, and nothing can hinder your movement (such as difficult terrain or obstacles). Here’s what it means to have a clear path. First, you must move to the closest space from which you can attack the opponent. (If this space is occupied or otherwise blocked, you can’t charge.) Second, if any line from your starting space to the ending space passes through a square that blocks movement, slows movement, or contains a creature (even an ally), you can’t charge. (Helpless creatures don’t stop a charge.)

If you don’t have line of sight to the opponent at the start of your turn, you can’t charge that opponent.

You can’t take a 5-foot step in the same round as a charge.
 
Last edited:

Meatpuppet said:
I was just wondering,

Why is it not possible to overrun as part of a charge?

I think it's because you "must move before your attack, not after." It totally works, but the wording of charge, err, not so much.

The fun thing is, I read the first line in overrun and it says "You can attempt an overrun as a standard action, or as part of a charge." :confused:
 

werk said:
The fun thing is, I read the first line in overrun and it says "You can attempt an overrun as a standard action, or as part of a charge." :confused:
Wotc tore that out with the errata shortly after 3.5's release.
 

werk said:
The fun thing is, I read the first line in overrun and it says "You can attempt an overrun as a standard action, or as part of a charge."
And then you remember to delete "or as part of a charge" per the errata.

;)
 


Remove ads

Top