D&D 4E Stupid question about 4e implements

Piratecat

Sesquipedalian
Are magic item implements class-related? That is to say, let's say I am playing a wizard who chose wand as his implement. Can I use a wand that contains a warlock or bard power instead of a wizard power?

Thanks. I think I know the answer, but I'm second guessing myself.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Sure, the power is in the wand and you can use wands. Would make wands even weaker if you could only use ones to cast spells your class already has.
 

You don't even need to be specialized in wands in order to use one. All that is required is that any of your classes have a wand as one of its implements.

Wands have a different rule when it comes to using their powers, however. Most implements require that you be proficient in that implement to use its powers; wands take it a step further and require that you have at least one power with the same power source keyword as the power in the wand.

In your case, you should probably have at least one arcane power, so yes, you can use any wand with your powers, and you can use any power in a wand that has no keyword, or the arcane keyword.
 

You don't even need to be specialized in wands in order to use one. All that is required is that any of your classes have a wand as one of its implements.

Wands have a different rule when it comes to using their powers, however. Most implements require that you be proficient in that implement to use its powers; wands take it a step further and require that you have at least one power with the same power source keyword as the power in the wand.

In your case, you should probably have at least one arcane power, so yes, you can use any wand with your powers, and you can use any power in a wand that has no keyword, or the arcane keyword.
Essentials doesn't actually have that as a rule anymore, stripped out for simplicities sake I suppose.
 

Essentials doesn't actually have that as a rule anymore, stripped out for simplicities sake I suppose.

It helps that the essentials wands don't have class powers.

The rule hasn't been overturned yet, and still very much applies. It's a moot point tho, the only classes that get wands as implements are arcane classes, and the only powers on wands are arcane powers.
 





Interesting. Do orbs, staves or tomes work like this as well?

Yeah, every wizard implement has always worked like this. Being specialized in wands has never stopped you from using an orb.

Unless you mean 'can you use an orb with a warlock power if multi'd into wizard' and the answer is yes, but that's a recent change because of the player's strategy guideessentials.
 

Remove ads

Top